Featured

Featured Posts

Pepper River Inn by K.T. Dady – Review | Blog Tour

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, love drama, and a happily ever after.

Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin.

The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories, best when read in order, that intertwine with recurring characters.

Pepper River Inn: There has been a longstanding family feud in Pepper Bay between the Renshaws and the Trents, and it’s about to get even more messy.

Rosie and Belle Trent have just inherited their uncle’s rundown hotel and have decided to see if they can rebuild the unloved business. They don’t rate their chances of having a successful inn, not with the perfect one right next door owned by Elliot and Ned Renshaw.

The two sisters and two brothers aren’t meant to be friends, so when Elliot saves Rosie from drowning and they fall in love, it’s down to Belle and Ned to keep the family feud alive. All they have to do is continue to hate each other. How hard can it be?

Pepper River Inn by K.T. Dady - Review | Blog banner
Pepper River Inn by K.T. Dady – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

In Their Branches: Stories from ABC RN’s Trees Project by Gretchen Miller – Spotlight

A very special collection of over one hundred stories, memories, and reflections on trees that have had a special meaning in the lives of Australians, from ABC RN.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

We all have a favourite tree. We scaled their trunks in childhood, planted their saplings in memory of someone we loved, and carried their silhouettes in our hearts across lifetimes and continents. We have watched them grow and watched them burn, skylarked around in their foliage and cried into their trunks. Up in their branches we have let our imaginations soar, found a sanctuary away from our troubles, and felt connected to nature and life and the ages.

When ABC RN asked its audience for stories for their trees Project, the response was astounding – listeners sent in their memories and reflections on trees they’ve loved and trees they’ve lost. Gretchen Miller has lovingly gathered over one hundred of these deeply personal stories and poems into this exquisite collection. In their Branches is the perfect book for the arborist, the dreamer and the tree hugger in all of us.

In Their Branches: Stories from ABC RN's Trees Project by Gretchen Miller - Spotlight - blog banner
In Their Branches: Stories from ABC RN’s Trees Project by Gretchen Miller – Spotlight

Keep on reading!

The Gifts by Liz Hyder – Review | Blog Tour

An engaging and touching story.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A young woman staggers through the woods. Something is happening deep inside and as she’s thrown to her knees in agony, the world around her stops. When she comes to, she is astonished at the sight of her shadow – it has wings.

Meanwhile when rumours of ‘fallen angels’ cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune will find himself in the grip of a dangerous obsession, and the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .

The Gifts is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of Bearmouth. A gripping and ambitious book told through several female voices and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the knife-edge roles of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.

The Gifts by Liz Hyder - Review | Blog Tour - blog banner
The Gifts by Liz Hyder – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett – Spotlight

A tender and masterfully told story of memory, family and love.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Prague, 1938: Eva flies down the street from her sister. Suddenly a man steps out, a man wearing a hat. Eva runs into him, hits the pavement hard. His hat is in the gutter. His anger slaps Eva, but his hate will change everything, as war forces so many lives into small, brown suitcases.

Prague, 1980: No one sees Ludek. A young boy can slip right under the heavy blanket that covers this city – the fear cannot touch him. Ludek is free. And he sees everything. The world can do what it likes. The world can go to hell for all he cares because Babi is waiting for him in the warm flat. His whole world.

Melbourne, 1980: Mala Li ka’s grandma holds her hand as they climb the stairs to their third floor flat. Inside, the smell of warm pipe tobacco and homemade cakes. Here, Mana and Bill have made a life for themselves and their granddaughter. A life imbued with the spirit of Prague and the loved ones left behind.

Favel Parrett’s deep emotional insight and stellar literary talent shine through in this love letter to the strong women who bind families together, despite dislocation and distance. It is a tender and beautifully told story of memory, family and love. Because there is still love. No matter what.

The profoundly moving new novel from the critically acclaimed and Miles Franklin shortlisted author of PAST THE SHALLOWS and WHEN THE NIGHT COMES.

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett - Spotlight - blog banner
There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett – Spotlight

Keep on reading!

The Miraculous Sweetmakers: The Frost Fair by Natasha Hastings – Review | Blog Tour

An enchanting, magical tale.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

An amazing and captivating, curl-up-on-the-sofa debut about a magical frost fair and the lasting power of friendship.

It’s a cold winter during the Great Frost of 1683. Thomasina and Anne are the best of friends, one running her father’s sweet shop and the other the apprentice at the family apothecary – together they sell their goods on the frozen River Thames. When a family tragedy turns Thomasina’s world upside down, she is drawn to a mysterious conjuror and the enchanted frost fair. But soon the world of Father Winter threatens to claim everything she holds dear. Will they be able to solve the magical mysteries that surround them . . . ?

The Miraculous Sweetmakers: The Frost Fair by Natasha Hastings

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Wind in the Wall by Sally Gardner – Spotlight

Illustrated by Rovina Cai

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

‘I have no idea how long I have been incarcerated in these ancient walls . . . Let me explain how I find myself in this predicament . . .’

Set in the hot houses of a stately home in eighteenth century England, a gardener falls from grace when the Duke sets him the impossible task of growing prize pineapples fit to show off in high society.

The gardener’s star falls further when he is replaced by Mr Amicus, a pineapple ‘specialist’, whom he believes to be a charlatan and a trickster – but nevertheless miraculously produces fruit to delight the Duke. Determined to uncover Mr Amicus’s tricks, the gardener sneaks into the pineapple house to uncover the mysterious shrouded birdcage Mr Amicus carries with him. And what he finds changes his life for ever . . .A cautionary tale with echoes of myth and fairy tale, this bewitching fable will make you careful what you wish for.

The Wind in the Wall by Sally Gardner - Spotlight - blog banner
The Wind in the Wall by Sally Gardner – Spotlight

Keep on reading!
%d bloggers like this: