The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review & Blog Tour

Jane Renshaw’s The Child Who Never Was delivers on all its promises. It is a provocative and stunning psychological thriller with a twist that blew away my mind.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Her child has been taken. But no-one believes her.

Sarah’s beautiful baby son Oliver has gone missing. And she will do anything – anything – to get him back.

But there’s a problem. Everyone around Sarah, even her beloved identical twin, Evie, tells her she never had a son, that he’s a figment of her imagination, that she’s not well, she needs help.

And on one level, they’re right, Sarah does need support. She has suffered massive trauma in the past and now she’s severely agoraphobic, very rarely leaves the house, avoids all contact with people.

But fragile though she is, Sarah knows deep in her heart that Oliver is real, that the love she feels for him is true.

And that can only mean one thing – someone has been planning this. And now they’ve taken her baby.

The stunning psychological thriller with an ending you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of K.L Slater, Mark Edwards, Alex Michaelides.

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw - Review
The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review | Blog Tour organised by damppebbles blog tours

Rating: 4 out of 5.

WHY YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK

Jane Renshaw’s The Child Who Never Was delivers on all its promises. It is a provocative and stunning psychological thriller with a twist that blew away my mind.

Sarah’s toddler, Oliver, has gone missing, but no-one believes her. Not even her beloved twin sister, Evie, who she loves more than herself.

Because she never had a son.

The child she is mistaking for her own is Evie’s son, James. But is he?

Renshaw has crafted an all-consuming novel. I could not help but follow Sarah as she tried to find her way through the web of lies and deceit. Who is telling the truth? Why does she keep thinking James as Oliver? Has her mental health declined so much she cannot differentiate reality from make-believe anymore? I was in Sarah’s mind all the time she was trying to find answers to these questions.

The book is addictive, thrilling, and full of twists. I never knew when the tables turned. Everyone was a suspect here, even Sarah herself. I did not know whom to believe. I kept on leafing through the pages to find out whether Sarah was right in believing Oliver to be her child. The breakneck speed helped me in making short work of this book in two days. Further, the plot is taut with suspense.

Besides being eager to find out the truth, I also felt angry at the actions of the protagonists. Renshaw has created some seriously twisted people. The emotions she invoked through her writing are a testament to her writing prowess.

Finally, the climax. I did not see it coming. At all. While the climax was stunning, the buildup to it was even better. Once I crossed 60%, I could not stop reading. It was so addictive. Although I wished the conclusion was different, I cannot deny The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw is an absolute must-read.

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw - Review & book cover
The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review

A big thanks to the author, publisher, and Emma Welton of Damp Pebbles Blog Tours for my copy of this book. This does not affect my opinion on the book at all. I opted to provide an honest review on my blog.

AUTHOR BIO

Jane Renshaw, author of The Child Who Never Was
Jane Renshaw, author of The Child Who Never Was

As a child, Jane spent a lot of time in elaborate Lego worlds populated by tiny plastic animals and people. Crime levels were high, especially after the Dragon brothers set themselves up as vets and started murdering the animals in their ‘care’. (They got away with it by propping the victims up with Plasticine and pretending they were still alive…)

As an adult, she is still playing in imaginary worlds and putting her characters through hell – but now she can call it ‘writing’ and convince herself that she is doing something sensible. In real life, she has a PhD in genetics and copy-edits scientific and medical journals.

Jane is the author of Watch Over Me. THE CHILD WHO NEVER WAS will be her second novel published with Inkubator Books.

Social Media:

Twitter || Website

Purchase Links:

Amazon.in || Amazon UK || Amazon US

Disclaimer – The Amazon.in link is an affiliate link. If you buy from this link, I will get a very small commission at no extra cost to you.

Publishing Information:

Published in digital format by Inkubator Books on 16th August 2020.

Author: debjani6ghosh

I started this blog to discuss books that I read and movies that I watch. But the blog may not be purely restricted to that!

16 thoughts on “The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review & Blog Tour”

  1. Hi Debjani! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing my book. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’m learning a lot about the art of reviewing on this blog tour – your review manages to be very informative and intriguing without giving anything away. Great, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am jumping like a child with glee. 😀 This is the first time an author has commented on my review. Thank you for appreciation.
      Your book was very good, Jane. I loved reading it.

      Like

      1. Thank you! I know authors aren’t meant to comment on reviews (even the good ones), but I think (hope) it’s different for blog tours… You put a lot of effort into reading, thinking about and reviewing the book, so I think it’s only fair to say thanks! Plus, you have a very welcoming vibe on your blog – it’s lovely.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.