The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson – Review | Blog Tour

Gripping.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Let bestselling author Lindsey Hutchinson take you back in time to the Victorian Black Country, for a tale of love, hardship and fighting against the odds to succeed.

Life is tough for Ella Bancroft. After her father, Thomas, is wheelchair-bound by an accident at the tube works, the responsibility for keeping a roof over their head falls to Ella. Ella’s mother died when she was ten, and her sister Sally lives with her no-good, work-shy husband Eddy, so is no help at all.  If she and her father are to keep the bailiffs from the door, then Ella must earn a living.

But Ella is resourceful as well as creative, and soon discovers she has a gift for millinery. Setting up shop in the front room of their two-up, two-down home in Silver Street, Walsall, Ella and Thomas work hard to establish a thriving business. Before long, the fashionable ladies of the Black Country are lining up to wear one of Ella’s beautiful creations, and finally Ella dares to hope for a life with love, friendship and family.

Meeting the man she longs to marry should be a turning point for Ella, but life’s twists and turns can be cruel. As the winter grows colder, events seem to conspire to test Ella’s spirit. And by the time spring is approaching, will the hat girl of Silver Street triumph, or will Ella have to admit defeat as all her dreams are tested.

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with a heart-breaking, unforgettable, page-turning story of love, life and battling against the odds. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews. 

The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson - Review | Blog Tour
The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 5 out of 5.

WHY YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK

Wow! What a book. One that took me to heights of elation and slammed me back to earth in a matter of few pages.

Ella’s triumphs and tribulations had my insides in turmoil. One moment she would be rejoicing with happiness; the next moment she would be shedding tears over another setback.

The Hat Girl from Silver Street is an utterly gripping story. I finished the book in two days straight. I was mesmerized by Hutchinson’s writing skills. The story flowed smoothly. I eagerly kept on turning the pages to see how Ella would conquer all the challenges that life threw at her. With help from her near and dear ones, she succeeds but also learns a truth: sometimes, you cannot win. You simply must accept. I cannot divulge anything more than this.

I liked all the characters in the story. Not even one seemed a waste to me. Hutchinson breathes life into every character, each of whom contributes to the drama. However, Ella was my favorite due to her creativity and resilient spirit. Her father, Thomas, comes a close second due to his staunch support for Ella.

Despite a heartbreaking conclusion, I loved the book. Usually, I do not like tragic endings, however, that’s the power of Hutchinson’s writing. The Hat Girl from Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson is highly recommended for lovers of historical and literary fiction.

The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson book cover
The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson

BOOK DETAILS

Genre: Historical Fiction || Pages: 358  || Published on 4th March, 2021 by Boldwood Books

Buy on Amazon

Many thanks to Rachel @ Rachel’s Random Resources for organizing this blog tour. Many thanks to the publisher for my copy of the book. This does not affect my opinion on the book. I opted to provide an honest review on my blog.

AUTHOR BIO

Lindsey Hutchinson
Lindsey Hutchinson

Lindsey Hutchinson is a bestselling saga author whose novels include The Workhouse Children. She was born and raised in Wednesbury, and was always destined to follow in the footsteps of her mother, the multi-million selling Meg Hutchinson.

Author Links: Goodreads || Twitter

If you liked this post, consider supporting my blog through donations on Ko-fi. You can also follow me on Twitter and Goodreads.

Author: debjani6ghosh

I started this blog to discuss books that I read and movies that I watch. But the blog may not be purely restricted to that!

8 thoughts on “The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson – Review | Blog Tour”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.