The Man in the Bunker by Rory Clements – Review | Blog Tour

Tom Wilde #6

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Germany, late summer 1945 – The war is over but the country is in ruins. Millions of refugees and holocaust survivors strive to rebuild their lives in displaced persons camps. Millions of German soldiers and SS men are held captive in primitive conditions in open-air detention centres. Everywhere, civilians are desperate for food and shelter. No one admits to having voted Nazi, yet many are unrepentant.

Adolf Hitler is said to have killed himself in his Berlin bunker. But no body was found – and many people believe he is alive. Newspapers are full of stories reporting sightings and theories. Even Stalin, whose own troops captured the bunker, has told President Truman he believes the former Führer is not dead. Day by day, American and British intelligence officers subject senior members of the Nazi regime to gruelling interrogation in their quest for their truth.

Enter Tom Wilde – the Cambridge professor and spy sent in to find out the truth…

Dramatic, intelligent, and brilliantly compelling, THE MAN IN THE BUNKER is Rory’s best WWII thriller yet – perfect for readers of Robert Harris, C J Sansom and Joseph Kanon.

The Man in the Bunker by Rory Clements - Review | Blog Tour
The Man in the Bunker by Rory Clements – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.

WHY YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK

A Man in the Bunker by Rory Clements is a gripping spy thriller. This is my first Tom Wilde book, although this is the 6th in the series. However, it can read as a standalone. “What if Hitler is alive” is a wonderful premise which I am pleased to say Clements has built upon wonderfully.

Clements does a perfect job of portraying the atmosphere of post-war Germany where civilians are scrambling for food and shelter while many people are still unrepentant of their support to the Nazis. Amidst this hostile environment, Wilde must search for the truth.

Wilde is assigned Mozes Heck as a partner for the investigation. The trigger-happy Heck is a perfect foil to the level-headed Wilde. Heck lost his family to the war; hence, his anger is understandable. However, this creates unnecessary obstacles in the path of the investigation. The way Wilde continues despite such obstacles makes for enjoyable reading. However, Heck also contributes to the investigation equally. Initially, both dislike each other, however, gradually, they develop mutual respect and look out for each other.

Clements also sheds light on the plight of women who were shunned by society because they fell in love with the soldiers of the opposite faction. Moreover, Clements’ visually descriptive writing had me in the thrall of the picturesque locales of Germany as Wilde and Heck race through the country to find the truth.

Overall, I enjoyed reading A Man in the Bunker by Rory Clements. Recommended for fans of spy thrillers.

The Man in the Bunker by Rory Clements book cover
The Man in the Bunker by Rory Clements

BOOK DETAILS

Genre: Thriller || Pages: 460 || Published on January 20th 2022 by Bonnier Zaffre

Many thanks to Tracy @ Compulsive Readers for organizing this blog tour. Many thanks to the publisher for my copy of the book. This does not affect my opinion on the book. I opted to provide an honest review on my blog.

AUTHOR BIO

Rory Clements author pic
Rory Clements

Rory Clements is a Sunday Times bestselling author. He won the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award for his second novel, Revenger, and a TV series of the John Shakespeare novels is currently in development. Rory lives in Norfolk with his family.

Author Link(s): Website

If you liked this post, consider supporting my blog through donations on Ko-fi. You can also follow me on Twitter and Goodreads.

Author: debjani6ghosh

I started this blog to discuss books that I read and movies that I watch. But the blog may not be purely restricted to that!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: