Burying The Newspaper Man by Curtis Ippolito – Cover Reveal

Many thanks to Meggy from Red Dog Press for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A dead body. A dark past. An ordinary man with everything to lose.

Marcus Kemp is a regular beat cop living a normal life in San Diego, California. Until the day he makes a shocking discovery: a dead body in the trunk of a stolen car. Worse, the victim turns out to be the man who abused him as a child.

Marcus instinctively wants to help the killer get away with murder and, disregarding his police oath, will stop at nothing to make it happen. With both his job and freedom in jeopardy, his investigation leads him to an unexpected killer, and Marcus is soon faced with an impossible decision.

Can he finally bury the past before it drags him under?

Burying The Newspaper Man by Curtis Ippolito - Cover Reveal
Burying The Newspaper Man by Curtis Ippolito – Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the cover!

Continue Reading

A Rendezvous to Remember: A Memoir of Joy and Heartache at the Dawn of the Sixties by Terry Marshall and Ann Garretson Marshall – Book Blitz

The true story of a soldier, a pacifist, and the woman who loved them both.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

In June 1964, Ann Garretson skips her college commencement to tour Europe with Lieutenant Jack Sigg, a tank commander on the German-Czech border, with the hope of returning as his fiancé. A month later, her best friend, Terry, proposes marriage—by mail—throwing all their lives into turmoil. 

Jack offers the military life Ann grew up with. Terry, a conscientious objector, will leave for the Peace Corps at summer’s end, unless the draft board intervenes and sends him to jail. Her dilemma: she loves them both. Caught between the old mores and winds of change, Ann must make an agonizing choice.  

In alternating voices, A Rendezvous to Remember presents firsthand accounts by the two who eventually married, enriched by letters from the rival, whose path led him elsewhere. Provocative and delightfully uncensored, this coming-of-age memoir is a tribute to the enduring power of love and family. 

“A love story you’ll never forget.”—Hope Edelman, #1 New York Times best-selling author of Motherless Daughters.

 “A story about what it means to be human—to struggle with love and what we truly want out of life—especially when being pulled in two different directions. Humorous and heartbreaking, the dueling narrative is stunning, surprising, and inspiring.”—Samantha Vérant, author of Seven Letters from Paris

A Rendezvous to Remember: A Memoir of Joy and Heartache at the Dawn of the Sixties by Terry Marshall  and Ann Garretson Marshall -  Book Blitz
A Rendezvous to Remember by Terry Marshall and Ann Garretson Marshall – Book Blitz
Continue Reading

Transference by John Bowie – Cover Reveal

(Black Viking Thriller #2)

Many thanks to Meggy from Red Dog Press for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

‘BRUTAL, DARK AND LYRICAL MANC NOIR’

As clubbers in Manchester’s most notorious club partied hard in the 90s, a girl collapsed, falling from the stage after a bad pill.

Few noticed.

Those that did, didn’t care – lost in a hedonistic haze.

John Black, an ex-SAS soldier, who was working security that night, carried her out in his arms.

Now on witness protection for exposing the city’s underworld after the girl’s death, he goes back to the city that disowned him – to confront the orchestrator of his pains… and reclaim his lost identity.

Transference by John Bowie - Cover Reveal
Transference by John Bowie – Cover Reveal

And now let’s see the cover!

Continue Reading

The Canterbury Murders by E.M. Powell – Review | Blog Tour

Stanton & Barling, #3

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

The Canterbury Murders by E.M. Powell - Review | Blog Tour
The Canterbury Murders by E.M. Powell – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

A Conventicle of Magpies by LMR Clarke – Excerpt | Blog Tour

I am thrilled to share this amazing new book! A Conventicle of Magpies is the first book in the Bloodskills duology, and today I have an exclusive excerpt for you, and a chance to win a signed copy of the book!

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Rook is a thief, and entirely unapologetic about it as she’s determined to do anything to ensure her mother and siblings survive the squalid and dangerous streets of Stamchester.

Rook slips in and out of the homes of the ruling elite of Stamchester, the Avenish, like a shadow taking what she needs without regret.

Why should she? Had the Avenish not stolen her own people, the Saouiasei, from their own homes years before and transported them across the ocean to Stamchester to work as virtual slaves?

And, now the Avenish had no more use for Rook and her people, where they not determined to dispose of them?

The Avenish had already laid waste to a swathe of Saouiasei homes, a region which had become known as ‘The Scar’, in an attempt to drive them out?

However, Rook was not the only person hiding in the shadows. A  far more dangerous figure was haunting the filthy streets of Stamchester striking fear into Avenish and Saouiasei alike; Billy Drainer, a serial killer who not only murdered his victims but drained them of every ounce of their precious, life giving blood.

For within blood was a highly sought after commodity, the ability to enhance a persons natural abilities through the art of Bloodskill. To be faster and stronger than a normal person was something those with money were willing to pay handsomely for.

‘A Conventicle of Magpies’ is a fast-paced Gaslamp fantasy adventure set in a Victorian-inspired world. Perfect for fans of Charlie N. Holmberg’s Spellbreaker and Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.

A Conventicle of Magpies by LMR Clarke - Excerpt | Blog Tour
A Conventicle of Magpies by LMR Clarke – Excerpt | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

January 2021 Reading Wrap-Up

Hiya friends! Presenting to you a wrap-up for the books I read in January 2020. I read books this month. Without further ado, let’s dive into the recap.

Monthly Wrap-Up: January 2021
Continue Reading