What Lies Beneath & The Prodigal Mother by Stephen Edger – Double Cover Reveal

Many thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the books are about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

What Lies Beneath

As Grieving father Joe Irons wants nothing but justice following daughter Lydia’s abduction and murder. But when police release prime suspect David Calderwood due to a lack of evidence, Joe feels compelled to act. In the dead of night he weighs up the moral implications of whether doing a bad thing for a good reason is justifiable. With Calderwood abducted and imprisoned in a cell beneath the stairs, Joe intends to obtain a confession no matter the cost.

When Joe learns that another child has been taken, he’s certain David is involved, and is in a race against time to break his prisoner, but wanting to hurt someone isn’t the same as physically doing it.

Invading David’s home, Joe begins to piece together how his captive thinks, picking up the investigation the police have left open. With a child’s life hanging in the balance, will Joe have what it takes to find the truth?

What Lies Beneath is an adrenaline-fueled, high concept thriller that will appeal to fans of Adrian McKinty’s The Chain, and CJ Tudor’s The Other People.

The Prodigal Mother

Five years ago, Abbie’s son Josh died during delivery. It’s taken this long for her and husband Mark to even think about trying to restart their family. Now eight months pregnant, Abbie won’t dare dream of a happy ending in case it is snatched away again.

When a stranger tells Abbie that Josh was switched at the hospital and is living under a new identity, Abbie desperately wants to believe it’s a second chance, but Mark isn’t as easily convinced, especially when the stranger’s mental health issues come to light.

Abbie can’t find Josh without the stranger’s help, but she can’t risk the life of the child she is carrying. And she doesn’t know how far Josh’s new family will go to keep their secret buried.

Told at a breakneck pace, and with twists on every page, The Prodigal Mother is a gripping psychological suspense, perfect for fans of CL Taylor, Louise Jensen, and CJ Tudor.

What Lies Beneath  &  The Prodigal Mother by Stephen Edger  - Double Cover Reveal
What Lies Beneath & The Prodigal Mother by Stephen Edger – Double Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the covers!

Continue Reading

Stalking Tender Prey by Storm Constantine – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is Stalking Tender Prey by Storm Constantine.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The Grigori are an ancient race. Powerful people, possessing abilities and senses humans do not have. They live among us, their presence clear to those who have eyes to see…Owen and Lily Winter, twins, always knew they were different than the others, who lived in the quiet hamlet of Little Moor. Their mother dead, never knowing, who their father was, they lived alone in the large house. When Peverel Othman arrived in Little Moor he was looking for something or someone, he really was not sure which. When he found the twins he knew his search was over. For Lily and Owen their lives would be forever changed. The quiet hamlet of Little Moor just became the new home of a Grigori.

Stalking Tender Prey by Storm Constantine - Spotlight
Stalking Tender Prey by Storm Constantine – Spotlight
Continue Reading

Demons Run by Amy Wood – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is Demons Run by Amy Wood.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A nobleman and a thief join forces to reclaim justice in a city of power and secrets.

When Lord Aiden buys Dare out of prison, the thief finds himself indebted to a member of the ruling class he has hated all his life. To redeem this debt, he swears Lord Aiden seven days of service—and rapidly finds himself caught up in a deadly game of vengeance.

Lord Aiden is a man of vast wealth and high rank. Yet he lives as a near outcast. When a commoner girl is found dead, the victim of dark sorcery, he turns all his considerable intellect towards finding her killer.

Working together, the two follow a trail of death from the lowest of dockside taverns to the highest levels of society. In a decadent portside city where deception is the norm, Dare must learn the hardest lesson of all—trust.

Demons Run by Amy Wood - Spotlight
Demons Run by Amy Wood – Spotlight
Continue Reading

Candy Coated Madness by Jeff Strand – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is Candy Coated Madness by Jeff Strand.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Horror/comedy master Jeff Strand returns with a collection of twenty-six gleefully macabre tales!

A cheerful snack mascot who snaps under the pressure. The nightmarish effects of the most depressing holiday song of all time. A virtual reality environment that allows you to enact your most depraved fantasies…sort of. A cheerful snack mascot who snaps under the pressure. Giant mutant cockroaches doing battle with zombies in the Old West. An unnerving discovery in the Book of Revelations. The true secret of silent comedian Buster Keaton’s success. Plus a Halloween curse, a lot of psychopaths, and much more!

Often hilarious, frequently gruesome, and sometimes just flat-out wrong to the point where laughing at them presents a moral quandary, Candy Coated Madness is Strand at his demented best!

Candy Coated Madness by Jeff Strand spotlight
Candy Coated Madness by Jeff Strand- Spotlight
Continue Reading

Lost and Lonely by Brian James Freeman – Spotlight

Being a book blogger, my to-be-read pile has way more books than I can ever finish reading. To top it, I keep adding more books to my “Want to Read” list in Goodreads. While reading and/or reviewing every book in my TBR pile will remain a fantasy, the least I can do is to pen a spotlight post for such books, bring them to your attention, and tempt you to add them to your “Want to Read” List.

Starting today, every week, I plan to feature a book in my Spotlight series. This may be an upcoming release or a backlist title.

This week’s book under spotlight is Lost and Lonely by Brian James Freeman.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

This new collection by Brian James Freeman features characters who are haunted by horrors they think are out of their control, but perhaps the source of their greatest terrors is closer to home than they ever feared possible.

In “Losing Everything Defines You,” a bestselling author’s family mysteriously vanished three months ago, yet if they’re really missing, why is he hearing footsteps in the hallway outside his bedroom every night?

Patty knows that everyone makes mistakes in life and when it comes to “Loving Roger,” she wants to fix the errors of her ways and make everything right again.

William Carver and his family fled the colonies to escape a monster stalking their community, but the western plains might not be the safe haven they had hoped for once they hear “How The Wind Lies.”

When Melissa was a little girl, her father told her that all children were like “Perfect Little Snowflakes,” each was different and unique in conception, but you never knew where they would land once they hit the ground.

And finally, a mother doesn’t remember when the coldness began to fester inside her and now she’s terrified for her baby as she suffers from “The Plague of Sadness.”

Lost and Lonely by Brian James Freeman - Spotlight
Lost and Lonely by Brian James Freeman – Spotlight
Continue Reading

The Between by Ryan Leslie – Book Blitz

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

While landscaping his backyard, ever-conscientious Paul Prentice discovers an iron door buried in the soil. His childhood friend and perpetual source of mischief, Jay Lightsey, pushes them to explore what’s beneath.

When the door slams shut above them, Paul and Jay are trapped in a between-worlds place of Escher-like rooms and horror story monsters, all with a mysterious connection to a command-line, dungeon explorer computer game from the early ’80s called The Between.

Paul and Jay find themselves filling roles in a story that seems to play out over and over again. But in this world, where their roles warp their minds, the biggest threat to survival may not be the Koŝmaro, risen from the Between’s depths to hunt them; the biggest danger may be each other.

The Between by Ryan Leslie -  Book Blitz
The Between by Ryan Leslie – Book Blitz
Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: