Travel by Night by Sophie Morton-Thomas – Review | Blog Tour

Dark and gritty.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A nebulous memory. Caught in a dangerous trap. A life-changing discovery.

When Yalina wakes in hospital following surgery, she doesn’t recognise her own parents.

Following her release, she makes the decision to meet her estranged brother, Ali, in Sheffield, but the man who picks her up is not her brother. He takes Yalina to a house where girls are held against their will and forced into sex slavery. Too late, she realises she has fallen into a trap.

Over time, Yalina discovers a love of playing the old piano that lives in the house. It keeps her sane. As friendships blossom between the women, Yalina finds herself taking a young girl, Rebecca, under her wing, which makes it harder for her to try to escape.

Using a stolen laptop, Yalina searches for her brother online, but soon discovers that all is not as it seems.

As the women are threatened with violence, Yalina reluctantly accepts help from a stranger she met in the house. But he carries a secret that could impact on her whole life.

But will it be enough for Yalina to escape her captors? And how will she cope with the unexpected revelation?

Travel by Night by Sophie Morton-Thomas - Review | Blog Tour
Travel by Night by Sophie Morton-Thomas – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon – Excerpt | Blog Tour

Today, I am thrilled to share an excerpt with you from the book Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon, a Young Adult, Fantasy novel. This is the first book in The Seventh Age Saga series.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Myridians are coming, each wielding one of Six Cataclysmic Powers that will lay waste to the world and wake the God of Neutrality. What happens when one refuses to succumb to her myridian nature and sets out to save the world instead?

***

SIDRA ANATOLA will soon die a human death and be reborn as one of the myridian, beings destined to destroy the World of Aetheria. In a desperate attempt to change her dark fate, she flees home and the young man she loves to seek help from a powerful entity who has lived through all the ages. But she may not make it in time before she is killed by hunters—or by the love of her life, also a myridian, who fights every day to hold onto the emotions that made him human.

BRESEIS ERISWEN was expelled from the academy and failed her father who expected her to carry on her late mother’s profession as a myridian hunter. But Breseis never wanted to be a hunter—she refused to kill, and she never believed in myridians, to begin with. She leaves home with big dreams, lacking experience, and a broken heart, to prove that she is more than a failed hunter.

Two contrasting paths converge to become a turbulent one. A mouthy intellect with a colorful personality, and a skilled warrior with a frosty attitude, put their differences aside and travel the rest of the way together, robbing temples, angering false gods, and escaping numerous predicaments with their lives. Amid the chaos, they form a friendship despite a gut feeling that both hide dangerous secrets that can save or destroy the world and each other.

Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon - Excerpt | Blog Tour
Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon – Excerpt | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

Thieves by Greg Jolley – Excerpt | Book Blitz

I am thrilled to share an excerpt from Thieves by Greg Jolley, which is the first book in Obscurité de Floride Trilogy.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

From Tropea, Italy to Michigan and Florida, the thieves Molly and April Danser are on the run, trying to escape from an enraged ex-US Marshal. He is hell bent on stopping them once and for all, his twisted black heart fired up for revenge and their total destruction. Will the sisters elude his blood-soaked hunt? They have their smarts and resource but have never faced a pursuit like this.

Can they somehow put an end to his blood lust?

Thieves by Greg Jolley  -  Book Blitz banner
Thieves by Greg Jolley – Book Blitz
Continue Reading

Dead in the Water by Chris McDonald – Cover Reveal

(Stonebridge #2)

Many thanks to Meggy from Red Dog Press for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The Stonebridge Regatta is looming. The town’s annual face-off against neighbouring Meadowfield is usually a weekend filled with sunshine, laughter and camaraderie.

This year is different.

A week before the race, the body of Stonebridge team captain Matthew Henderson is found dead in the water. The police file his passing as a tragic accident however, his grieving widow disagrees and suspects foul play is involved. She enlists the help of Adam and Colin, the town’s amateur (self-proclaimed) private detectives to unearth the truth.

Did Matthew simply slip and fall into the water, or is there more to his death below the surface?

Dead in the Water by Chris McDonald - Cover Reveal
Dead in the Water by Chris McDonald – Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the cover!

Continue Reading

Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi – Spotlight | Blog Tour

Today is my stop on the blog tour for Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi. I am shining a spotlight on the book.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is a riveting and irresistible take on love, life, and identity — both online and off.

CeCe Ross is kind of a big deal. She and her girlfriend, Silvie, are social media influencers with zillions of fans and followers, known for their cute outfits and being #relationshipgoals.

So when Silvie breaks up with her, CeCe is devastated. She’s lost her first love, and now she can’t help but wonder if she’ll lose her followers as well.

Things get even messier when CeCe meets Josh, a new boy in town who is very much Not Online. CeCe isn’t surprised to be falling for a guy; she’s always known she’s bi. And Josh is sweet and smart and has excellent taste in donuts… but he has no idea that CeCe is internet-famous. And CeCe sort of wants to keep it that way.

But when CeCe’s secrets catch up to her, she finds herself in the middle of an online storm, where she’ll have to confront the blurriness of public vs. private life, and figure out what it really means to speak her truth. 

Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi - Spotlight | Blog Tour
Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi – Spotlight | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

Call Me Mummy by Tina Baker – Review | Blog Tour

Gripping story.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

THIS MOTHER’S DAY YOU WILL CALL HER MUMMY.

Glamorous, beautiful Mummy has everything a woman could want… except for a daughter of her very own. So when she sees Kim – heavily pregnant, glued to her phone and ignoring her eldest child in a busy shop – she does what anyone would do. She takes her. But little foul-mouthed Tonya is not the daughter that Mummy was hoping for.

Meanwhile Kim is demonised by the media as a ‘scummy mummy’, who deserved to lose Tonya and ought to have her other children taken too. Haunted by memories of her own childhood and refusing to play by the media’s rules, she begins to spiral, turning on those who love her.

Though they are worlds apart, Mummy and Kim have more in common than they could possibly imagine. But it is five-year-old Tonya who is caught in the middle…

CALL ME MUMMY. IT’LL BE BETTER IF YOU DO.

Call Me Mummy by Tina Baker - Review
Call Me Mummy by Tina Baker – Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading