The Unbroken by C.L. Clark – Review | Blog Tour

Magic of the Lost #1

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Touraine is a soldier. Stolen as a child and raised to kill and die for the empire, her only loyalty is to her fellow conscripts. But now, her company has been sent back to her homeland to stop a rebellion, and the ties of blood may be stronger than she thought.

Luca needs a turncoat. Someone desperate enough to tiptoe the bayonet’s edge between treason and orders. Someone who can sway the rebels toward peace, while Luca focuses on what really matters: getting her uncle off her throne.

Through assassinations and massacres, in bedrooms and war rooms, Touraine and Luca will haggle over the price of a nation. But some things aren’t for sale. 

The Unbroken by C.L. Clark Review | Blog Tour
The Unbroken by C.L. Clark – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

(Northern Witch #4)

Many thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

As an eventful school year draws to a close, Mark has to face his greatest challenge yet.

Witches, demons and spells have quickly become the norm for Mark, but he will find that magic can’t solve all of his problems.

With everyone relying on him, will Mark be able to save the day?

Or will the price of being a hero be too high?

Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden cover reveal
Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the cover!

Continue Reading

The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer – Excerpt | Blog Tour

Today, I am thrilled to share an excerpt with you from the book The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

When Ellie is dumped by her boyfriend, she’s forced to make new friends (while watching her ex swoon over his new girlfriend) in The Secret Recipe for Moving On, a smart and funny YA debut from Karen Bischer.

Ellie Agresti’s not sure anything could be worse than being dumped by her boyfriend, Hunter, the first day of senior year.

But sharing a “life skills” class with him and his new girlfriend, Brynn? AND getting partnered with a “family” of misfits (A.J., the loudmouth; Isaiah, the horse-racing obsessive; and Luke, the tattooed stunt-biker)?

It’s a recipe for certain disaster…until an in-class competition allows Ellie to channel her angst into beating Hunter and Brynn’s team, and she unexpectedly bonds with her own group–especially Luke–in the process.

But as Ellie soon discovers, it will take more than classroom triumphs to heal her broken heart–and find herself again.

The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer banner
The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer – Excerpt | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon – Excerpt | Blog Tour

Today, I am thrilled to share an excerpt with you from the book Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon, a Young Adult, Fantasy novel. This is the first book in The Seventh Age Saga series.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Myridians are coming, each wielding one of Six Cataclysmic Powers that will lay waste to the world and wake the God of Neutrality. What happens when one refuses to succumb to her myridian nature and sets out to save the world instead?

***

SIDRA ANATOLA will soon die a human death and be reborn as one of the myridian, beings destined to destroy the World of Aetheria. In a desperate attempt to change her dark fate, she flees home and the young man she loves to seek help from a powerful entity who has lived through all the ages. But she may not make it in time before she is killed by hunters—or by the love of her life, also a myridian, who fights every day to hold onto the emotions that made him human.

BRESEIS ERISWEN was expelled from the academy and failed her father who expected her to carry on her late mother’s profession as a myridian hunter. But Breseis never wanted to be a hunter—she refused to kill, and she never believed in myridians, to begin with. She leaves home with big dreams, lacking experience, and a broken heart, to prove that she is more than a failed hunter.

Two contrasting paths converge to become a turbulent one. A mouthy intellect with a colorful personality, and a skilled warrior with a frosty attitude, put their differences aside and travel the rest of the way together, robbing temples, angering false gods, and escaping numerous predicaments with their lives. Amid the chaos, they form a friendship despite a gut feeling that both hide dangerous secrets that can save or destroy the world and each other.

Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon - Excerpt | Blog Tour
Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon – Excerpt | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

Thieves by Greg Jolley – Excerpt | Book Blitz

I am thrilled to share an excerpt from Thieves by Greg Jolley, which is the first book in Obscurité de Floride Trilogy.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

From Tropea, Italy to Michigan and Florida, the thieves Molly and April Danser are on the run, trying to escape from an enraged ex-US Marshal. He is hell bent on stopping them once and for all, his twisted black heart fired up for revenge and their total destruction. Will the sisters elude his blood-soaked hunt? They have their smarts and resource but have never faced a pursuit like this.

Can they somehow put an end to his blood lust?

Thieves by Greg Jolley  -  Book Blitz banner
Thieves by Greg Jolley – Book Blitz
Continue Reading

We are the Fire by Sam Taylor – Review | Blog Tour

For fans of Young Adult fiction.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor’s explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana―both taken from their homeland at a young age―only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

We are the Fire by Sam Taylor – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading