When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt – Review | Books on Tour

A heartbreaking, powerful book.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

“Dad, you have to tell me the truth. Are you who they say you are? Because I know you can’t be. I know you can’t possibly have done what they’re saying…”

Libby Trent has worked hard to make a good life for herself. She has a happy, messy home in Virginia, full of family and laughter. And a job she’s enormously proud of at a charity helping the disadvantaged, that suits her strong sense of what’s right and wrong.

But everything changes the day she’s contacted by a government official asking questions about a man named Hans Brenner, a Nazi who escaped Germany after the Second World War. A war criminal guilty of the most heinous deeds.

And the man they suspect is Libby’s own father.

She has always known that her father was born in Germany, but what they’re saying is simply impossible. Her frail, elderly father is the sweetest man she knows. With his kind eyes, his tender care, his passion for social justice, he is the person who taught her every value she has… He can’t possibly be the evil man they are saying he was.

But the official is insistent. He says he knows Libby’s father is Hans Brenner, but he tells her they need more evidence for the trial to go ahead—even if it is just a photograph, a letter, or something her father might have kept from those days. And Libby is the one who could find it for them.

Libby knows terrible acts should never go unpunished. But she refuses to believe her father could be guilty, and so she decides to search for something that can prove his innocence. She knows she simply has to find it, because if she can’t…

Then everything she thought she knew about her father, about herself, and even about history may be changed forever.

A totally heartbreaking and powerful story about a daughter’s impossible dilemma and the darkest of family secrets, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, and Diane Chamberlain.

When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt - Review | Books on Tour
When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt – Review | Books on Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Alma Underwood Is Not A Kleptomaniac by Lacey Dailey – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is Alma Underwood Is Not A Kleptomaniac by Lacey Dailey.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

“You are my greatest find.”

Quirky, big-hearted Alma Underwood has a knack for pocketing the various objects people leave behind at her parents’ small-town motel. From old ticket stubs… to the glue that comes with a toupee, Alma possesses a passion for recusing forgotten treasures—even if nobody else sees it that way.

Her greatest treasure is found, not under a motel bed or stashed inside a drawer, but inside an old, abandoned train car that rests behind her house. After hoisting herself into the train car she’s dubbed Mo, Alma stumbles upon Rumor.

With nothing but a duffle bag and a quilt to keep him warm, it’s crystal clear Rumor Rawlings isn’t just hanging out in the train car for a place to escape.

He’s living in it.

Rumor’s wit and relentless perseverance charm the part of Alma programmed to rescue. Just as she does with all the other treasures she finds… Alma brings him home.

On a quest to find his mother, Rumor is searching for a treasure of his own, and who better to help him find it than her?

Alma Underwood Is Not A Kleptomaniac by Lacey Dailey - Spotlight
Alma Underwood Is Not A Kleptomaniac by Lacey Dailey – Spotlight

Keep on reading!

Sixteen Horses by Greg Buchanan – Review

A dark and unsettling tale.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

In Ilmarsh, England, local police detective Alec Nichols discovers sixteen horses’ heads on a farm, each buried with a single eye facing the low winter sun. After Veterinary Forensics expert Cooper Allen travels to the scene, a pathogen is discovered lurking within the soil, and many of those who have come into contact with the corpses grow critically ill.

A series of crimes comes to light–disappearances, arson, and mutilations–and in the dark days that follow, the town slips into panic and paranoia. Everything is not as it seems. Anyone could be a suspect. And as Cooper finds herself unable to leave town, Alec is stalked by an unseen threat. The two investigators race to uncover the truth behind these frightened and insidious mysteries–no matter the cost.

Sixteen Horses by Greg Buchanan - Review
Sixteen Horses by Greg Buchanan – Review

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Finding Happiness at Heritage View by Helen Rolfe – Review | Blog Tour

Standalone 5th Book in the Heritage Cove series

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Welcome back to Heritage Cove, the little village by the sea brimming with character, community and friendship. The perfect place to fall in love…

Running Heritage View Stables is everything Hazel ever dreamed of. She loves working with the horses and managing the business with her brother. But after a terrible incident, she’s not sure whether she’ll ever be able to put things back the way they were.

Gus is ready to start over. He’s moved him and his ten-year-old daughter Abigail to Heritage Cove, where he’s opening his own vet practice. Everything is falling into place, especially as he watches Abigail start to come out of her shell for the first time since the accident.

Neither Hazel nor Gus is looking for love, but could they each be what the other needs? And is happiness even a possibility when their pasts won’t let them go?

Join new friends and old, as summer comes to Heritage Cove.

Finding Happiness at Heritage View by Helen Rolfe - Review | Blog Tour
Finding Happiness at Heritage View by Helen Rolfe – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Jacob’s Advice by Jude Cook – Blog Tour

Two cousins search for their Jewish identity in the Paris of 2015.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Larry Frost, a British pharmacologist living in Paris, is exuberant, charismatic,
wildly opinionated. He’s also convinced he’s Jewish – or at least he’s long had his hopes. But his search for what he believes is his true identity produces more
questions than answers.

In early 2015, following the terrorist attack on Charlie Hebdo , Larry is joined by his sceptical older cousin, Nick Newman. Divorced, separated from his son and desperately trying to understand his own place in the world, Nick is drawn inextricably into Larry’s slipstream as they walk the fractured, uneasy, magical streets of Paris.

Then, in November, terrorism strikes the city again. With Paris and the cousins still reeling from the trauma, Larry receives the information he’s urgently been seeking: a long-held family secret that will change both their lives forever.

Set against a backdrop of extremism, nationalism and the resurgence of antisemitism, Jacob’s Advice is a timely exploration of identity, race, family and the inescapable nature of the past.

Jacob's Advice by Jude Cook - Blog Tour
Jacob’s Advice by Jude Cook – Blog Tour
Continue Reading

The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai – Review & Blog Tour

Told from the alternating perspectives of Hương and her grandmother, The Mountains Sing charts the journey of generations of Trần family as they face severe adversities for more than two decades during the Việt Nam War and the infamous Land Reform of North Vietnam.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Born in 1920, Trần Diệu Lan and her family lost everything when the Communist government came to power in North Việt Nam. Forced to flee with her six children, she knows she must do whatever it takes to keep her family alive.

Fifty years later, her country is again at war, and her young granddaughter Hương grieves the loss of her parents, who have disappeared to the South along the Ho Chi Minh Trail.

The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai - Review, Blog Tour & book cover
The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai – Review & Blog Tour

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue reading!
%d bloggers like this: