When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt – Review | Books on Tour

A heartbreaking, powerful book.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

“Dad, you have to tell me the truth. Are you who they say you are? Because I know you can’t be. I know you can’t possibly have done what they’re saying…”

Libby Trent has worked hard to make a good life for herself. She has a happy, messy home in Virginia, full of family and laughter. And a job she’s enormously proud of at a charity helping the disadvantaged, that suits her strong sense of what’s right and wrong.

But everything changes the day she’s contacted by a government official asking questions about a man named Hans Brenner, a Nazi who escaped Germany after the Second World War. A war criminal guilty of the most heinous deeds.

And the man they suspect is Libby’s own father.

She has always known that her father was born in Germany, but what they’re saying is simply impossible. Her frail, elderly father is the sweetest man she knows. With his kind eyes, his tender care, his passion for social justice, he is the person who taught her every value she has… He can’t possibly be the evil man they are saying he was.

But the official is insistent. He says he knows Libby’s father is Hans Brenner, but he tells her they need more evidence for the trial to go ahead—even if it is just a photograph, a letter, or something her father might have kept from those days. And Libby is the one who could find it for them.

Libby knows terrible acts should never go unpunished. But she refuses to believe her father could be guilty, and so she decides to search for something that can prove his innocence. She knows she simply has to find it, because if she can’t…

Then everything she thought she knew about her father, about herself, and even about history may be changed forever.

A totally heartbreaking and powerful story about a daughter’s impossible dilemma and the darkest of family secrets, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, and Diane Chamberlain.

When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt - Review | Books on Tour
When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt – Review | Books on Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Santa Killer by Ross Greenwood – Review | Blog Tour

An engaging mystery.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The Santa Killer is coming to town…

One night less than two weeks before Christmas, a single mother is violently assaulted. It’s a brutal crime at the time of year when there should be goodwill to all. When DI Barton begins his investigation, he’s surprised to find the victim is a woman with nothing to hide and no reason for anyone to hurt her.

A few days later, the mother of the woman attacked rings the police station. Her granddaughter has drawn a shocking picture. It seems she was looking out of the window when her mother was attacked. And when her grandmother asks the young girl who the person with the weapon is, she whispers two words.

Bad Santa.

The rumours start spreading, and none of the city’s women feel safe – which one of them will be next?

He’s got a list. It’s quite precise. It won’t matter even if you’re nice.

The Santa Killer by Ross Greenwood - Review | Blog Tour
The Santa Killer by Ross Greenwood – Review | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

The Rules by Tracy Darnton – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is The Rules by Tracy Darnton.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Amber’s an expert when it comes to staying hidden – she’s been trained her whole life for it. But what happens when the person you’re hiding from taught you everything you know?

When a letter from her dad arrives, Amber knows she’s got to move – and fast. He’s managed to find her and she knows he’ll stop at nothing to draw her back into the extreme survivalist way of life he believes in.

All of a sudden the Rules she’s spent so long trying to escape are the ones keeping her safe. But for how long?

Perfect for fans of Karen McManus, E. Lockhart, and Holly Jackson. 

The Rules by Tracy Darnton - Spotlight
The Rules by Tracy Darnton – Spotlight

Keep on reading!

When the Shit Hits the Van (The Neon Owl #1) by Chad Lutzke – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is When the Shit Hits the Van (The Neon Owl #1) by Chad Lutzke.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Jinx is a record-collecting, middle-aged minimalist whose dreams of becoming a detective are waylaid by love and laziness. But when he inherits his late aunt’s rundown motel, The Neon Owl, his passion for investigative work reignites while he searches for answers as to who keeps shitting in the bushes. His findings lead to a full-blown murder mystery where he and new-found friend, Roddy, the elderly, one-legged handyman, set out to find the killer.

A crime noir-ish whodunnit rife with humor, grit, and ranch dressing.

When the Shit Hits the Van (The Neon Owl #1) by Chad Lutzke - Spotlight
When the Shit Hits the Van (The Neon Owl #1) by Chad Lutzke – Spotlight

Keep on reading!

Sixteen Horses by Greg Buchanan – Review

A dark and unsettling tale.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

In Ilmarsh, England, local police detective Alec Nichols discovers sixteen horses’ heads on a farm, each buried with a single eye facing the low winter sun. After Veterinary Forensics expert Cooper Allen travels to the scene, a pathogen is discovered lurking within the soil, and many of those who have come into contact with the corpses grow critically ill.

A series of crimes comes to light–disappearances, arson, and mutilations–and in the dark days that follow, the town slips into panic and paranoia. Everything is not as it seems. Anyone could be a suspect. And as Cooper finds herself unable to leave town, Alec is stalked by an unseen threat. The two investigators race to uncover the truth behind these frightened and insidious mysteries–no matter the cost.

Sixteen Horses by Greg Buchanan - Review
Sixteen Horses by Greg Buchanan – Review

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Retreat by Sarah Pearse – Review | Blog Tour

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Sanatorium, a Reese’s Book Club Pick, detective Elin Warner’s second outing, as she uncovers the truth behind the suspicious deaths on a stunning island getaway.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Most are here to recharge and refresh. But someone’s here for revenge. . .

An eco-wellness retreat has opened on an island off the English coast, promising rest and relaxation—but the island itself, known locally as Reaper’s Rock, has a dark past. Once the playground of a serial killer, it’s rumored to be cursed.

Detective Elin Warner is called to the retreat when a young woman’s body is found on the rocks below the yoga pavilion in what seems to be a tragic fall. But the victim wasn’t a guest—she wasn’t meant to be on the island at all.

When a guest drowns in a diving incident the following day, Elin starts to suspect that there’s nothing accidental about these deaths. But why would someone target the guests, and who else is in danger?

Elin must find the killer—before the island’s history starts to repeat itself . .

The Retreat by Sarah Pearse - Review | Blog Tour
The Retreat by Sarah Pearse – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: