The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review & Blog Tour

Jane Renshaw’s The Child Who Never Was delivers on all its promises. It is a provocative and stunning psychological thriller with a twist that blew away my mind.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Her child has been taken. But no-one believes her.

Sarah’s beautiful baby son Oliver has gone missing. And she will do anything – anything – to get him back.

But there’s a problem. Everyone around Sarah, even her beloved identical twin, Evie, tells her she never had a son, that he’s a figment of her imagination, that she’s not well, she needs help.

And on one level, they’re right, Sarah does need support. She has suffered massive trauma in the past and now she’s severely agoraphobic, very rarely leaves the house, avoids all contact with people.

But fragile though she is, Sarah knows deep in her heart that Oliver is real, that the love she feels for him is true.

And that can only mean one thing – someone has been planning this. And now they’ve taken her baby.

The stunning psychological thriller with an ending you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of K.L Slater, Mark Edwards, Alex Michaelides.

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw - Review
The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review | Blog Tour organised by damppebbles blog tours

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Sins of the Father by JG Faherty – Review

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Henry Gilman has spent years trying to separate himself from his father’s legacy of murder and insanity. Now he has the chance – all he has to do is figure out who’s been killing people in Innsmouth. Then he’ll be a hero and win the heart of the woman he loves, Flora Marsh. But soon he’s caught in a web of danger, with the undead stalking the streets at night, a terrible monster lurking below the city, and a prophecy of destruction about to come true. In the process, his actions cause unwanted consequences and to save Flora he has to do the very thing he’s spent his life trying to avoid – follow his father’s footsteps into madness.

Sins of the Father by JG Faherty Review and book cover
Sins of the Father by JG Faherty – Review

Summary copied from Goodreads

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Kanzashi by Christopher Kincaid – Review

Kanzashi by Christopher Kincaid is an absorbing read about a maiko’s struggle to find her place in the world.

WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT

Geikos are women skilled in the art of entertaining men with dancing, singing, pouring drinks, and telling stories. Maikos are apprentice geikos.

Mameko is one such maiko, training to be a geiko under the stern guidance of her mother. Her calendar is choc-a-bloc with training, appointments, and other social demands of a maiko. Being a daughter of a prominent geiko family, everyone thinks life is easy for her. However, only Mameko knows how hard she works.

Amid all these, one of Mameko’s patrons, Mr. Funaki (who is also an important politician), is murdered with her hairpin stuck in his throat, thus, making her the prime suspect. She must resist the police’s effort to make her confess to the crime and find the true killer, or else her dream of becoming a geiko will never be fulfilled.

Kanzashi by Christopher Kincaid - Review & book cover
Kanzashi by Christopher Kincaid – Review

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue reading

The Collector by John Maher – Review & Blog Tour

AN ACTION-PACKED THRILLER INVOLVING A FORENSIC LINGUIST

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Collector by John Maher.

WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT

They say human life is the most precious thing. The Collector doesn’t agree.

When world renowned archaeologist Philip Carlton suddenly and unexpectedly commits suicide, the police are called to investigate. Heading up the investigation is Detective Lucy O’Hara, a Forensic Linguist – and she immediately sees something is wrong with the suicide note. In her gut, she knows this was cold-blooded murder.

Battling skeptical superiors and the Irish establishment, Lucy digs for the truth and begins to uncover a shadowy trade in ancient artifacts led by a mysterious figure known only as ‘The Collector’.

As Lucy works to uncover his identity, she soon realizes she is up against a ruthless mastermind who is systematically eliminating anyone who might lead her to him. But Lucy won’t give up and soon The Collector turns his attention to her…

The Collector – the first in a gripping new series featuring Detective Lucy O’Hara.

The Collector by John Maher Blog Tour banner
The Collector by John Maher Blog Tour banner

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Book Blitz – The Chosen Ones by Lisa Luciano

BOOK DETAILS

Book Title: The Chosen Ones

Author: Lisa Luciano

Release Date: May 1, 2020

Publisher: Micro Publishing Media Inc.

ISBN-10: 1936517302

ISBN-13: 978-1936517305

Price: $16.95

Paperback: 288 Pages

Genres: Mystery, crime, thriller, suspense, sports fiction, fiction

Buy on Amazon.com

The Chosen Ones by Lisa Luciano book cover
The Chosen Ones by Lisa Luciano

WEBSITE LINK:

Author Website: 

https://www.lisalucianobooks.com

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Instagram: @lisalucianobooks

Twitter:  @LisaLuciano888

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/lisa-luciano-39875a74/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53296616-the-chosen-ones

Continue Reading

The Wolf and the Watchman by Niklas Natt Och Dag – Review

Mickel Cardell, an infirm ex-soldier and former guard, fishes out a mutilated corpse from the fetid lake of Stockholm. The corpse has no limbs, eyes, teeth, or tongue. The only thing that distinguishes it from a discarded carcass is his mass of golden hair.

Cecil Winge is a brilliant consulting detective to the Stockholm police and is suffering from tuberculosis. Together, Winge and Cardell must race against time to discover the monster who ravaged this unidentifiable man.

Meanwhile, Kristopher Blix—a joyful fellow—arrives in Stockholm from his village to become a doctor. His initial good fortunes soon take a turn for the worse.

In another corner of the city, Anna Stina—a young woman—is unjustly imprisoned in a workhouse. She hopes to escape from the hellhole, but she should do it soon since she is the next target of a sadistic guard. The paths of these extraordinary characters collide in unexpected ways in The Wolf and the Watchman penned by Niklas Natt Och Dag.

The Wolf and the Watchman by Niklas Natt Och Dag - review & book cover
The Wolf and the Watchman by Niklas Natt Och Dag – review

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue reading “The Wolf and the Watchman by Niklas Natt Och Dag – Review”