The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer – Excerpt | Blog Tour

Today, I am thrilled to share an excerpt with you from the book The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

When Ellie is dumped by her boyfriend, she’s forced to make new friends (while watching her ex swoon over his new girlfriend) in The Secret Recipe for Moving On, a smart and funny YA debut from Karen Bischer.

Ellie Agresti’s not sure anything could be worse than being dumped by her boyfriend, Hunter, the first day of senior year.

But sharing a “life skills” class with him and his new girlfriend, Brynn? AND getting partnered with a “family” of misfits (A.J., the loudmouth; Isaiah, the horse-racing obsessive; and Luke, the tattooed stunt-biker)?

It’s a recipe for certain disaster…until an in-class competition allows Ellie to channel her angst into beating Hunter and Brynn’s team, and she unexpectedly bonds with her own group–especially Luke–in the process.

But as Ellie soon discovers, it will take more than classroom triumphs to heal her broken heart–and find herself again.

The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer banner
The Secret Recipe for Moving On by Karen Bischer – Excerpt | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon – Excerpt | Blog Tour

Today, I am thrilled to share an excerpt with you from the book Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon, a Young Adult, Fantasy novel. This is the first book in The Seventh Age Saga series.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Myridians are coming, each wielding one of Six Cataclysmic Powers that will lay waste to the world and wake the God of Neutrality. What happens when one refuses to succumb to her myridian nature and sets out to save the world instead?

***

SIDRA ANATOLA will soon die a human death and be reborn as one of the myridian, beings destined to destroy the World of Aetheria. In a desperate attempt to change her dark fate, she flees home and the young man she loves to seek help from a powerful entity who has lived through all the ages. But she may not make it in time before she is killed by hunters—or by the love of her life, also a myridian, who fights every day to hold onto the emotions that made him human.

BRESEIS ERISWEN was expelled from the academy and failed her father who expected her to carry on her late mother’s profession as a myridian hunter. But Breseis never wanted to be a hunter—she refused to kill, and she never believed in myridians, to begin with. She leaves home with big dreams, lacking experience, and a broken heart, to prove that she is more than a failed hunter.

Two contrasting paths converge to become a turbulent one. A mouthy intellect with a colorful personality, and a skilled warrior with a frosty attitude, put their differences aside and travel the rest of the way together, robbing temples, angering false gods, and escaping numerous predicaments with their lives. Amid the chaos, they form a friendship despite a gut feeling that both hide dangerous secrets that can save or destroy the world and each other.

Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon - Excerpt | Blog Tour
Silver Dawn Afire by Sonja J. Breckon – Excerpt | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

Thieves by Greg Jolley – Excerpt | Book Blitz

I am thrilled to share an excerpt from Thieves by Greg Jolley, which is the first book in Obscurité de Floride Trilogy.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

From Tropea, Italy to Michigan and Florida, the thieves Molly and April Danser are on the run, trying to escape from an enraged ex-US Marshal. He is hell bent on stopping them once and for all, his twisted black heart fired up for revenge and their total destruction. Will the sisters elude his blood-soaked hunt? They have their smarts and resource but have never faced a pursuit like this.

Can they somehow put an end to his blood lust?

Thieves by Greg Jolley  -  Book Blitz banner
Thieves by Greg Jolley – Book Blitz
Continue Reading

A Conventicle of Magpies by LMR Clarke – Excerpt | Blog Tour

I am thrilled to share this amazing new book! A Conventicle of Magpies is the first book in the Bloodskills duology, and today I have an exclusive excerpt for you, and a chance to win a signed copy of the book!

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Rook is a thief, and entirely unapologetic about it as she’s determined to do anything to ensure her mother and siblings survive the squalid and dangerous streets of Stamchester.

Rook slips in and out of the homes of the ruling elite of Stamchester, the Avenish, like a shadow taking what she needs without regret.

Why should she? Had the Avenish not stolen her own people, the Saouiasei, from their own homes years before and transported them across the ocean to Stamchester to work as virtual slaves?

And, now the Avenish had no more use for Rook and her people, where they not determined to dispose of them?

The Avenish had already laid waste to a swathe of Saouiasei homes, a region which had become known as ‘The Scar’, in an attempt to drive them out?

However, Rook was not the only person hiding in the shadows. A  far more dangerous figure was haunting the filthy streets of Stamchester striking fear into Avenish and Saouiasei alike; Billy Drainer, a serial killer who not only murdered his victims but drained them of every ounce of their precious, life giving blood.

For within blood was a highly sought after commodity, the ability to enhance a persons natural abilities through the art of Bloodskill. To be faster and stronger than a normal person was something those with money were willing to pay handsomely for.

‘A Conventicle of Magpies’ is a fast-paced Gaslamp fantasy adventure set in a Victorian-inspired world. Perfect for fans of Charlie N. Holmberg’s Spellbreaker and Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.

A Conventicle of Magpies by LMR Clarke - Excerpt | Blog Tour
A Conventicle of Magpies by LMR Clarke – Excerpt | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

The Secret of Dartwood Manor by N.A. Triptow – Excerpt | Book Blitz

A contemporary fantasy reimagining of Jane Austen’s beloved classic, Sense and Sensibility.

Today, I have an excerpt for you all from the book The Secret of Dartwood Manor by N.A. Triptow.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Witches. Ghosts. An ancient secret. Enter a world of myth and magic through this contemporary fantasy reimagining of Jane Austen’s beloved classic, Sense and Sensibility.

The small New England town of Tarryville, Maine is steeped in history, having been settled by the Dartwood and Farris families who fled Salem during the witch trials. The Dartwood sisters, Eden, Mariah, and Melissa, unexpectedly return home after their parents are found murdered. Upon their arrival, the girls are plagued by dreams in which dark spectral beings haunt them. When the hellish creatures seem to be more than just nightmares, another mystery begins to unravel as they discover that the circumstances around the murder of their parents may be far more menacing than they appear. Frantic for answers, they must untangle the mystery of their parents’ murders and reconstruct the pieces of an ancient secret. With the help of the young assistant curator of their family museum, Baden Correia, and an estranged friend from their past, Evan Farris, the orphaned Dartwood sisters must uncover the truth before the darkness haunting their family descends upon them as well.

The Secret of Dartwood Manor by N.A. Triptow  - Excerpt
The Secret of Dartwood Manor by N.A. Triptow – Excerpt
Continue Reading

The Scent of Leaves by Kathryn Trattner – Excerpt | Blog Tour

A modern fairytale retelling.

Today, I have an excerpt for you all from the book The Scent of Leaves by Kathryn Trattner.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Janet has always dreamed about leaving her small town behind and starting over somewhere fresh. The only thing keeping her going is a photography obsession and her film camera. For her, life is a series of late nights spent working at a local gas station and days earning a final college credit before graduation. But she’s been putting it off for so long she’s starting to feel like it might not happen.

One night Tom appears, charming and handsome, and going out of his way to get to know her. Suddenly he’s everywhere in her small town, appearing and disappearing at odd moments, creeping in on her days and nights. As they spend time together, Janet falling more under his spell each day, she begins to realize that reality is different around Tom. Small things begin to happen, odd occurrences turning into strange events, as Janet is pulled deeper into the mystery surrounding him.

In this modern retelling of the classic Ballad of Tam Lin the world is brought into sharp focus through the lens of a camera. The line between what is and is not real blurs, nature stealing in around the edges, and Janet comes to understand that there is more at stake than just a broken heart.

The Scent of Leaves by Kathryn Trattner - Excerpt
The Scent of Leaves by Kathryn Trattner – Excerpt
Continue Reading