Books with Fish on the cover: 10 Spectacular Middle grade books

If you have been following my blog, you would know I adore browsing books with beautiful covers. Yes! I am guilty of judging a book by its cover. For this post, I stumbled upon books that have fish on their cover.

While curating this list, I observed many of these books catered to the middle-grade audience, fiction and non-fiction alike. Many of the books listed below (except the first one, which is a horror book) feature children as protagonists and feature themes of dealing with grief, coming of age, and being curious about the world. However, this list cannot be strictly relegated to the middle-grade audience only. There is no reason why these books won’t win the hearts of my adult readers as well.

Without further ado, let’s dive in!

Books with Fish on the cover
Continue Reading

What Lies Beneath & The Prodigal Mother by Stephen Edger – Double Cover Reveal

Many thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the books are about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

What Lies Beneath

As Grieving father Joe Irons wants nothing but justice following daughter Lydia’s abduction and murder. But when police release prime suspect David Calderwood due to a lack of evidence, Joe feels compelled to act. In the dead of night he weighs up the moral implications of whether doing a bad thing for a good reason is justifiable. With Calderwood abducted and imprisoned in a cell beneath the stairs, Joe intends to obtain a confession no matter the cost.

When Joe learns that another child has been taken, he’s certain David is involved, and is in a race against time to break his prisoner, but wanting to hurt someone isn’t the same as physically doing it.

Invading David’s home, Joe begins to piece together how his captive thinks, picking up the investigation the police have left open. With a child’s life hanging in the balance, will Joe have what it takes to find the truth?

What Lies Beneath is an adrenaline-fueled, high concept thriller that will appeal to fans of Adrian McKinty’s The Chain, and CJ Tudor’s The Other People.

The Prodigal Mother

Five years ago, Abbie’s son Josh died during delivery. It’s taken this long for her and husband Mark to even think about trying to restart their family. Now eight months pregnant, Abbie won’t dare dream of a happy ending in case it is snatched away again.

When a stranger tells Abbie that Josh was switched at the hospital and is living under a new identity, Abbie desperately wants to believe it’s a second chance, but Mark isn’t as easily convinced, especially when the stranger’s mental health issues come to light.

Abbie can’t find Josh without the stranger’s help, but she can’t risk the life of the child she is carrying. And she doesn’t know how far Josh’s new family will go to keep their secret buried.

Told at a breakneck pace, and with twists on every page, The Prodigal Mother is a gripping psychological suspense, perfect for fans of CL Taylor, Louise Jensen, and CJ Tudor.

What Lies Beneath  &  The Prodigal Mother by Stephen Edger  - Double Cover Reveal
What Lies Beneath & The Prodigal Mother by Stephen Edger – Double Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the covers!

Continue Reading

18 Best Scary Books To Read For Halloween

It’s that time of the year when we look forward to reading scary stories where supernatural entities wreak havoc in innocent characters’ lives. No matter how unnerving it is to read a horror book, we continue reading it till the wee hours of the morning fearing even the slightest of sounds. I am presenting below a compilation of the best scary reads to read for Halloween. If you are a horror aficionado like me, then you can dive into these books any time of the year, not just Halloween.

18 Best Scary Books To Read For Halloween
18 Best Scary Books To Read For Halloween
Continue Reading

18 Incredible Books Coming Out in April to September 2021 You Must Read

Hello friends! I am presenting below a compilation of books that are going to be published between April – September 2021.

The list below comprises of mostly fiction books and a memoir. It contains books of variety of genres: mystery/crime/thriller, young adult, historical fiction, and fantasy.

Feel free to browse through the list.

18 Incredible Books Coming Out in April to September 2021 You Must Read
18 Incredible Books Coming Out in April to September 2021 You Must Read
Continue Reading

Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

(Northern Witch #4)

Many thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

As an eventful school year draws to a close, Mark has to face his greatest challenge yet.

Witches, demons and spells have quickly become the norm for Mark, but he will find that magic can’t solve all of his problems.

With everyone relying on him, will Mark be able to save the day?

Or will the price of being a hero be too high?

Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden cover reveal
Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the cover!

Continue Reading

Dead in the Water by Chris McDonald – Cover Reveal

(Stonebridge #2)

Many thanks to Meggy from Red Dog Press for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The Stonebridge Regatta is looming. The town’s annual face-off against neighbouring Meadowfield is usually a weekend filled with sunshine, laughter and camaraderie.

This year is different.

A week before the race, the body of Stonebridge team captain Matthew Henderson is found dead in the water. The police file his passing as a tragic accident however, his grieving widow disagrees and suspects foul play is involved. She enlists the help of Adam and Colin, the town’s amateur (self-proclaimed) private detectives to unearth the truth.

Did Matthew simply slip and fall into the water, or is there more to his death below the surface?

Dead in the Water by Chris McDonald - Cover Reveal
Dead in the Water by Chris McDonald – Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the cover!

Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: