Travel by Night by Sophie Morton-Thomas – Review | Blog Tour

Dark and gritty.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A nebulous memory. Caught in a dangerous trap. A life-changing discovery.

When Yalina wakes in hospital following surgery, she doesn’t recognise her own parents.

Following her release, she makes the decision to meet her estranged brother, Ali, in Sheffield, but the man who picks her up is not her brother. He takes Yalina to a house where girls are held against their will and forced into sex slavery. Too late, she realises she has fallen into a trap.

Over time, Yalina discovers a love of playing the old piano that lives in the house. It keeps her sane. As friendships blossom between the women, Yalina finds herself taking a young girl, Rebecca, under her wing, which makes it harder for her to try to escape.

Using a stolen laptop, Yalina searches for her brother online, but soon discovers that all is not as it seems.

As the women are threatened with violence, Yalina reluctantly accepts help from a stranger she met in the house. But he carries a secret that could impact on her whole life.

But will it be enough for Yalina to escape her captors? And how will she cope with the unexpected revelation?

Travel by Night by Sophie Morton-Thomas - Review | Blog Tour
Travel by Night by Sophie Morton-Thomas – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

February 2021 Reading Wrap-Up

Hiya friends! Presenting to you a wrap-up for the books I read in February 2021. I read 4 books this month, all of which were showcased in blog tours. Without further ado, let’s dive into the recap.

Monthly Reading Wrap-Up: February 2021
Monthly Wrap-Up: February 2021
Continue Reading

Call Me Mummy by Tina Baker – Review | Blog Tour

Gripping story.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

THIS MOTHER’S DAY YOU WILL CALL HER MUMMY.

Glamorous, beautiful Mummy has everything a woman could want… except for a daughter of her very own. So when she sees Kim – heavily pregnant, glued to her phone and ignoring her eldest child in a busy shop – she does what anyone would do. She takes her. But little foul-mouthed Tonya is not the daughter that Mummy was hoping for.

Meanwhile Kim is demonised by the media as a ‘scummy mummy’, who deserved to lose Tonya and ought to have her other children taken too. Haunted by memories of her own childhood and refusing to play by the media’s rules, she begins to spiral, turning on those who love her.

Though they are worlds apart, Mummy and Kim have more in common than they could possibly imagine. But it is five-year-old Tonya who is caught in the middle…

CALL ME MUMMY. IT’LL BE BETTER IF YOU DO.

Call Me Mummy by Tina Baker - Review
Call Me Mummy by Tina Baker – Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

We are the Fire by Sam Taylor – Review | Blog Tour

For fans of Young Adult fiction.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor’s explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana―both taken from their homeland at a young age―only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

We are the Fire by Sam Taylor – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Burning Girls by C.J. Tudor – Review | Blog Tour

A brilliant read.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Welcome to Chapel Croft. Five hundred years ago, eight protestant martyrs were burned at the stake here. Thirty years ago, two teenage girls disappeared without a trace. And two months ago, the vicar of the local parish killed himself.

Reverend Jack Brooks, a single parent with a fourteen-year-old daughter and a heavy conscience, arrives in the village hoping to make a fresh start and find some peace. Instead, Jack finds a town mired in secrecy and a strange welcome package: an old exorcism kit and a note quoting scripture. “But there is nothing covered up that will not be revealed and hidden that will not be known.”

The more Jack and daughter Flo get acquainted with the town and its strange denizens, the deeper they are drawn into their rifts, mysteries, and suspicions. And when Flo is troubled by strange sightings in the old chapel, it becomes apparent that there are ghosts here that refuse to be laid to rest.

But uncovering the truth can be deadly in a village where everyone has something to protect, everyone has links with the village’s bloody past, and no one trusts an outsider.

The Burning Girls by C.J. Tudor - Review
The Burning Girls by C.J. Tudor – Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Canterbury Murders by E.M. Powell – Review | Blog Tour

Stanton & Barling, #3

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

The Canterbury Murders by E.M. Powell - Review | Blog Tour
The Canterbury Murders by E.M. Powell – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading