The Shadow Kingdom by C.J. Inkson – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is The Shadow Kingdom by C.J. Inkson.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Elliot West stands vigil as Watchman, on the lookout for signs the Shadow Curse may be spreading across the Barrier Strait to her small northern isle. But in all the centuries since the curse was cast, no one, including Eli, has seen a thing, and even she is beginning to wonder if it’s all some grand hoax. That is, until she’s ambushed by the Lojkin, a warrior clan from the Shadow Kingdom who believe drinking the blood of someone with color will restore their own- stolen generations ago by the Curse.

Against her will, Eli is taken across the sea to the cursed Shadow Kingdom, waiting to be slaughtered as a sacrifice to foreign gods. Just when it seems her death is imminent, a young man with shifting tattoos and a questionable motive, helps her escape, setting them on a dangerous path through strange lands in an attempt to get home.

The Shadow Kingdom by C.J. Inkson - Spotlight
The Shadow Kingdom by C.J. Inkson – Spotlight

Keep on reading!

Monsters Born and Made by Tanvi Berwah – Review | Blog Tour

She grew up battling the monsters that live in the black seas, but it couldn’t prepare her to face the cunning cruelty of the ruling elite.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Fable, this South Asian-inspired fantasy is a gripping debut about the power of the elite, the price of glory, and one girl’s chance to change it all.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Sixteen-year-old Koral and her older brother Emrik risk their lives each day to capture the monstrous maristags that live in the black seas around their island. They have to, or else their family will starve.

In an oceanic world swarming with vicious beasts, the Landers—the ruling elite, have indentured Koral’s family to provide the maristags for the Glory Race, a deadly chariot tournament reserved for the upper class. The winning contender receives gold and glory. The others—if they’re lucky—survive.

When the last maristag of the year escapes and Koral has no new maristag to sell, her family’s financial situation takes a turn for the worse and they can’t afford medicine for her chronically ill little sister. Koral’s only choice is to do what no one in the world has ever dared: cheat her way into the Glory Race.

But every step of the way is unpredictable as Koral races against contenders who have trained for this their whole lives and who have no intention of letting a low-caste girl steal their glory. When riots break out and rogues attack Koral to try and force her to drop out, she must choose—her life or her sister’s—before the whole island burns.

Monsters Born and Made by Tanvi Berwah - Review | Blog Tour
Monsters Born and Made by Tanvi Berwah – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Kingdom of Essence by Holly Karlsson – Review | Blog Tour

Today I’m excited to participate in the Creative Blog Tour for Kingdom of Essence by Holly Karlsson hosted by MTMC Tours. Kingdom of Essence is the first book in a New Adult Fantasy Adventure series and it was released in Audiobook on May 20th, 2022.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Elitsa Serlov only cares about two things — earning enough money to start a new life and finding the rogue mage who murdered her mother. But years without leads have left her jaded, and she won’t let anyone — friend or foe — get in her way.

In Casekraia, anyone can use magic if they’re desperate enough to rent relics from the Tower, a corrupt guild of mages more concerned with their own wealth than the welfare of the people. Elitsa has spent the last three years as a reclamation agent for the Guild, hunting down her own people for precious coin and the hope of uncovering what happened to her mother.

Just one week before her contract with the Tower is set to expire, Elitsa is coerced into a dangerous conspiracy by a gang of rebellious thieves. With her loyalty to the Tower in question, Elitsa must decide between her quest for revenge and charting a new course for her life.

Kingdom of Essence by Holly Karlsson - Review | Blog Tour
Kingdom of Essence by Holly Karlsson – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Shaman’s Apprentice by B. Muze – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is The Shaman’s Apprentice by B. Muze.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Her master calls her shaman.
Her people call her witch.
Gods, spirits, and demons won’t stop calling.

In this first book of B. Muze’s epic primitive fantasy, Yaku Shaman believes he has at last found his apprentice—a girl who talks with ghosts, spirits and gods with equal ease. Unfortunately, his people refuse to accept her. The shaman forces Jovai to sacrifice every hope of a normal life, until the people, unaware of the dangers threatening them, revolt.

The Shaman's Apprentice by B. Muze
The Shaman’s Apprentice by B. Muze – Spotlight
Continue Reading

Skein and Bone by V. H. Leslie – Spotlight

Welcome back to my weekly Spotlight series.

This week’s book under spotlight is Skein and Bone by V. H. Leslie.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The stunning debut collection of supernatural and ghost stories from V.H. Leslie. An assured and masterful collection of lush and evocative tales that will send frissons through you.

Skein and Bone by V. H. Leslie spotlight
Skein and Bone by V. H. Leslie – Spotlight
Continue Reading

The World Breaker Requiem by Luke Tarzian- Review | Blog Tour

Adjacent Monsters #2

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Prince of Woe…

Avaria Norrith is the adopted heir to the Ariathan throne. But that means little to a man who, for the better part of fifteen years, has sought and failed to earn his mother’s love. Fueled by pride and envy, Avaria seeks the means to prove himself and cast away his mental chains. When he’s tasked with the recreation of The Raven’s Rage he sees his chance, for with the infamous blade he can rewrite history and start anew.

Daughter of the Mountain…

Erath has not felt sunlight for a century. Not since Ariath condemned her people to a life of darkness with their misuse of The Raven’s Rage. But when an old friend comes seeking the remnants of the ancient sword, Erath cannot contain her curiosity and resolves to lend her aid. Is it true—can history be revised? Can her people be reclaimed?

Toll the Hounds…

They are hungry—and they are here.

The World Breaker Requiem by Luke Tarzian- Review | Blog Tour
The World Breaker Requiem by Luke Tarzian- Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: