The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai – Review & Blog Tour

Told from the alternating perspectives of Hương and her grandmother, The Mountains Sing charts the journey of generations of Trần family as they face severe adversities for more than two decades during the Việt Nam War and the infamous Land Reform of North Vietnam.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Born in 1920, Trần Diệu Lan and her family lost everything when the Communist government came to power in North Việt Nam. Forced to flee with her six children, she knows she must do whatever it takes to keep her family alive.

Fifty years later, her country is again at war, and her young granddaughter Hương grieves the loss of her parents, who have disappeared to the South along the Ho Chi Minh Trail.

The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai - Review, Blog Tour & book cover
The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai – Review & Blog Tour

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue reading!

Secure the Shadow by Marion Grace Woolley – Review & Blog Tour

WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT

In 1824, a young man buttons up his redcoat and goes to war. Amidst the blood and devastation, he discovers a magical power which can save memory from the ravages of time.

1867 and a woman, living above a watch shop, meets two men who will change her life forever. As she ventures further into a world of séance and mysticism, she must decide whether to trust her own eyes.

In the present day, a rebellious artist finds herself photographing stillbirths for a living. At Little Angels, it’s not about what you can take from a picture, but what you can give.

The story of three lives, spanning the history of photography and our relationship with mortality.

Secure the shadow, ere the substance fades.

Secure the Shadow by Marion Grace Woolley Review Book cover
Secure the Shadow by Marion Grace Woolley Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review & Blog Tour

Jane Renshaw’s The Child Who Never Was delivers on all its promises. It is a provocative and stunning psychological thriller with a twist that blew away my mind.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Her child has been taken. But no-one believes her.

Sarah’s beautiful baby son Oliver has gone missing. And she will do anything – anything – to get him back.

But there’s a problem. Everyone around Sarah, even her beloved identical twin, Evie, tells her she never had a son, that he’s a figment of her imagination, that she’s not well, she needs help.

And on one level, they’re right, Sarah does need support. She has suffered massive trauma in the past and now she’s severely agoraphobic, very rarely leaves the house, avoids all contact with people.

But fragile though she is, Sarah knows deep in her heart that Oliver is real, that the love she feels for him is true.

And that can only mean one thing – someone has been planning this. And now they’ve taken her baby.

The stunning psychological thriller with an ending you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of K.L Slater, Mark Edwards, Alex Michaelides.

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw - Review
The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review | Blog Tour organised by damppebbles blog tours

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Sins of the Father by JG Faherty – Review

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Henry Gilman has spent years trying to separate himself from his father’s legacy of murder and insanity. Now he has the chance – all he has to do is figure out who’s been killing people in Innsmouth. Then he’ll be a hero and win the heart of the woman he loves, Flora Marsh. But soon he’s caught in a web of danger, with the undead stalking the streets at night, a terrible monster lurking below the city, and a prophecy of destruction about to come true. In the process, his actions cause unwanted consequences and to save Flora he has to do the very thing he’s spent his life trying to avoid – follow his father’s footsteps into madness.

Sins of the Father by JG Faherty Review and book cover
Sins of the Father by JG Faherty – Review

Summary copied from Goodreads

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Hollow Gods by A. J. Vrana – Review & Blog Tour

WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT?

Black Hollow is a town with a dark secret.

For centuries, residents have foretold the return of the Dreamwalker—an ominous figure from local folklore said to lure young women into the woods and possess them. Yet the boundary between fact and fable is blurred by a troubling statistic: occasionally, women do go missing. And after they return, they almost always end up dead.

When Kai wakes up next to the lifeless body of a recently missing girl, his memory blank, he struggles to clear his already threadbare conscience.

Miya, a floundering university student, experiences signs that she may be the Dreamwalker’s next victim. Can she trust Kai as their paths collide, or does he herald her demise?

After losing a young patient, crestfallen oncologist, Mason, embarks on a quest to debunk the town’s superstitions, only to find his sanity tested.

A maelstrom of ancient grudges, forgotten traumas, and deadly secrets loom in the foggy forests of Black Hollow. Can three unlikely heroes put aside their fears and unite to confront a centuries-old evil? Will they uncover the truth behind the fable, or will the cycle repeat?

The Hollow Gods by A. J. Vrana - Review & Book Cover
The Hollow Gods by A. J. Vrana – Review & Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Ship of Shadows by Maria Kuzniar – Review & Blog Tour

A SWASHBUCKLING TALE INVOLVING PIRATES, SHIPS, ADVENTURES ON STORMY SEAS, FACING DANGEROUS BEASTS IN THE MERCILESS DESERT, AND MUCH MORE.

WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT:

Aleja whiles away her days in her family’s dusty tavern in Seville, dreaming of distant lands and believing in the kind of magic that she’s only ever read about in books. After all, she’s always being told that girls can’t be explorers.

But her life is changed forever when adventure comes for her in the form of a fabled vessel called the Ship of Shadows. Crewed by a band of ruthless women, with cabin walls dripping with secrets, the ship has sailed right out of a legend. And it wants Aleja.

Once on board its shadowy deck, she begins to realize that the sea holds more secrets than she ever could have imagined. The crew are desperately seeking something, and their path will take them through treacherous waters and force them to confront nightmare creatures and pitch-dark magic. It will take all of Aleja’s strength and courage to gain the trust of her fellow pirates – and discover what they are risking everything to find.

Summary copied from Goodreads

The Ship of Shadows by Maria Kuzniar Review & Blog Tour, book cover
The Ship of Shadows by Maria Kuzniar Review & Blog Tour
Continue Reading