9 Incredible Books To Read in First Quarter of 2021

Hello friends! I am presenting below a compilation of books that are going to be released in the first quarter of 2021, that is, January, February, and March 2021.

The list below comprises of fiction books only. However, it contains books of variety of genres: romance, mystery/crime/thriller, young adult, and fantasy.

Feel free to browse through the list.

Attention fellow book bloggers! If you have reviewed any of the books below, please feel free to email me with your name and link to your review. I will like to link to your review in this post. You can find my email on my Review Policy page.

8 Incredible Books To Read in First Quarter of 2021
Continue Reading

Fifteen Incredible Books I Read in 2020

Our generation is sure to remember the year 2020 for the rest of our lives. In these tough times, books kept me company (what else can you expect from a book blogger). They helped me escape from all the sadness and negativity that this year heaped upon us.

Let’s have a look at the fifteen books that I enjoyed reading the most in 2020. These are the books whose stories are still fresh in my mind despite having read (at least some of them) months ago. They are from a variety of genres – thrillers, literary fiction, historical fiction, and fantasy.

Fifteen Incredible books I read in 2020 - Debjani's Thoughts Book blog
Fifteen Incredible books I read in 2020
Continue Reading

Little Wade and the Watchtower: Abigail and the Great Gang Trap by Sean March – Review

An excellent middle-grade fiction.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

There’s a legend for children who are sad and who cry,
About a little boy ghost, dressed in black, who can fly
About a big, metal giant who stands sky high.
They’ll always help you and they’ll never lie.
They’ll show you that even in your darkest hour
Deep inside you lies incredible power.
They are Little Wade and Watchtower!

New York City. 1899.

Abigail Reid just wants to go to school and get an education.
A poor farm girl who only recently moved to New York from the country, she quickly learns that New York City can be a very dangerous place. The Longshadows, the ruthless gangsters that control her neighborhood, have her surrounded, but just when Abigail thinks she is all alone, she meets the legendary Little Wade and the Watchtower!

With their help, Abigail will discover that she is far braver and more capable than she ever imagined and that New York City can be a wonderful place. Together, they plan to set The Great Gang Trap and rid her neighborhood of the Longshadows once and for all! Unfortunately, the Longshadows are not the only threat in New York.

Little Wade and the Watchtower: Abigail and the Great Gang Trap by Sean March - Review
Little Wade and the Watchtower: Abigail and the Great Gang Trap by Sean March – Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai – Review & Blog Tour

Told from the alternating perspectives of Hương and her grandmother, The Mountains Sing charts the journey of generations of Trần family as they face severe adversities for more than two decades during the Việt Nam War and the infamous Land Reform of North Vietnam.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Born in 1920, Trần Diệu Lan and her family lost everything when the Communist government came to power in North Việt Nam. Forced to flee with her six children, she knows she must do whatever it takes to keep her family alive.

Fifty years later, her country is again at war, and her young granddaughter Hương grieves the loss of her parents, who have disappeared to the South along the Ho Chi Minh Trail.

The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai - Review, Blog Tour & book cover
The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai – Review & Blog Tour

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue reading!

Secure the Shadow by Marion Grace Woolley – Review & Blog Tour

WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT

In 1824, a young man buttons up his redcoat and goes to war. Amidst the blood and devastation, he discovers a magical power which can save memory from the ravages of time.

1867 and a woman, living above a watch shop, meets two men who will change her life forever. As she ventures further into a world of séance and mysticism, she must decide whether to trust her own eyes.

In the present day, a rebellious artist finds herself photographing stillbirths for a living. At Little Angels, it’s not about what you can take from a picture, but what you can give.

The story of three lives, spanning the history of photography and our relationship with mortality.

Secure the shadow, ere the substance fades.

Secure the Shadow by Marion Grace Woolley Review Book cover
Secure the Shadow by Marion Grace Woolley Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review & Blog Tour

Jane Renshaw’s The Child Who Never Was delivers on all its promises. It is a provocative and stunning psychological thriller with a twist that blew away my mind.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Her child has been taken. But no-one believes her.

Sarah’s beautiful baby son Oliver has gone missing. And she will do anything – anything – to get him back.

But there’s a problem. Everyone around Sarah, even her beloved identical twin, Evie, tells her she never had a son, that he’s a figment of her imagination, that she’s not well, she needs help.

And on one level, they’re right, Sarah does need support. She has suffered massive trauma in the past and now she’s severely agoraphobic, very rarely leaves the house, avoids all contact with people.

But fragile though she is, Sarah knows deep in her heart that Oliver is real, that the love she feels for him is true.

And that can only mean one thing – someone has been planning this. And now they’ve taken her baby.

The stunning psychological thriller with an ending you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of K.L Slater, Mark Edwards, Alex Michaelides.

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw - Review
The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review | Blog Tour organised by damppebbles blog tours

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading