Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

(Northern Witch #4)

Many thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

As an eventful school year draws to a close, Mark has to face his greatest challenge yet.

Witches, demons and spells have quickly become the norm for Mark, but he will find that magic can’t solve all of his problems.

With everyone relying on him, will Mark be able to save the day?

Or will the price of being a hero be too high?

Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden cover reveal
Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the cover!

Continue Reading

The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson – Review | Blog Tour

Gripping.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Let bestselling author Lindsey Hutchinson take you back in time to the Victorian Black Country, for a tale of love, hardship and fighting against the odds to succeed.

Life is tough for Ella Bancroft. After her father, Thomas, is wheelchair-bound by an accident at the tube works, the responsibility for keeping a roof over their head falls to Ella. Ella’s mother died when she was ten, and her sister Sally lives with her no-good, work-shy husband Eddy, so is no help at all.  If she and her father are to keep the bailiffs from the door, then Ella must earn a living.

But Ella is resourceful as well as creative, and soon discovers she has a gift for millinery. Setting up shop in the front room of their two-up, two-down home in Silver Street, Walsall, Ella and Thomas work hard to establish a thriving business. Before long, the fashionable ladies of the Black Country are lining up to wear one of Ella’s beautiful creations, and finally Ella dares to hope for a life with love, friendship and family.

Meeting the man she longs to marry should be a turning point for Ella, but life’s twists and turns can be cruel. As the winter grows colder, events seem to conspire to test Ella’s spirit. And by the time spring is approaching, will the hat girl of Silver Street triumph, or will Ella have to admit defeat as all her dreams are tested.

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with a heart-breaking, unforgettable, page-turning story of love, life and battling against the odds. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews. 

The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson - Review | Blog Tour
The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Chocolate Box by Isabella May – Review | Blog Tour

Quirky and endearing.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Ellie Sanchez wants revenge. Spurned during her school days at prestigious Monty’s academy when she was plain Eleanor Finch, and played second fiddle to her idol, Barnaby Westwood, and his show-off sister, Clementine, Ellie will stop at nothing to turn the tables now she’s all grown up. The siblings and their snubbing have been the catalyst for everything that’s gone wrong in her life, from parental neglect to her divorce.

When the Westwood travel merchandise company advertises for a new HR manager, Ellie decides her unique combo of karma and Law of Attraction has finally come good. And she’ll be bagging herself a cherry-on-the-cake, second, and richer, husband in the process – once Barnaby sees how much she’s changed, anyway. 

Fast forward two years and he STILL doesn’t recognise her! 

Fast forward two years and the company is in a financial mess.

Last Chance Saloon-style, Ellie coerces the siblings and their older sister, Brooke (the perpetual spanner in her works) to a rustic gîte in Normandy for a spot of team-building… over a very ‘special’ box of artisan chocolates.

Cue ALL the fireworks in the cocoa bean version of Jumanji…

The Chocolate Box by Isabella May - Review | Blog Tour
The Chocolate Box by Isabella May – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Barnabas Tew and the Case of the Hellenic Abduction by Columbkill Noonan – Review | Blog Tour

An enjoyable, light-hearted mystery.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Demanding Greek gods. A world of intrigue. A mysterious helper.

Zeus is used to getting what he wants…but that was before he met Barnabas Tew!

Barnabas and Wilfred, the unluckiest detectives ever, are happily enjoying their time in India, working on mastering their emotions, and learning how to do all sorts of interesting yoga poses. They’re having a splendid time, and feel as if they’ve finally found some peace in their lives. Everything changes, though, when Zeus suddenly whisks them away from their idyllic retreat and demands that they solve a case for him.

Having no choice, they reluctantly accept the job, but quickly come to realize that nothing is as it should be. Zeus’ motives are suspect from the beginning, the rest of the Greek gods and goddesses are untrustworthy at best, and Barnabas’ temper hasn’t improved at all during his time in India. And, most importantly, who is the mysterious lady who keeps popping up just when they need her? Is she friend, or is she foe?

To make matters even worse, both Barnabas and Wilfred have unresolved feelings of their own. Can they settle their own emotional affairs, once and for all? Will they figure out what’s right and what’s wrong in this topsy-turvy world of lies, intrigue, and trickery? Or will the Greek gods and goddesses prove too much for them?

Barnabas Tew and the Case of the Hellenic Abduction by Columbkill Noonan - Review
Barnabas Tew and the Case of the Hellenic Abduction by Columbkill Noonan – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Just A Girl by Becky Monson – Spotlight | Blog Tour

Today is my stop on the blog tour for Just A Girl by Becky Monson. I am shining a spotlight on the book.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

What happens when the right girl and the right guy meet at the wrong time?

One thing that can be said about Quinn Pearson is that she has a knack for doing the wrong thing at the wrong time. Like, the worst time ever. Take her job for instance. One little slip of the tongue using the mother of all swear words while reporting the news, and suddenly she finds herself with over 18 million views on YouTube and her employment in jeopardy. If that wasn’t bad enough, when she meets the man of her dreams, she nearly chokes to death on a powdered sugar donut.

Thankfully for Quinn, the dashing Brit, Henry, finds her near death experience quite charming. But just when Quinn thinks her luck is going to change, she finds out her timing is all wrong again. Henry is off limits. Or is he? Maybe it’s time for Quinn to quit settling for what life hands her. Perhaps it’s time for her to become more than just a girl.

Just A Girl by Becky Monson - Review
Just A Girl by Becky Monson – Spotlight | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

The Forgotten Gift by Kathleen McGurl – Review | Blog Tour

An engrossing story.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

What would you do to protect the ones you love?

1861. George’s life changes forever the day he meets Lucy. She’s beautiful and charming, and he sees a future with her that his position as the second son in a wealthy family has never offered him. But when Lucy dies in a suspected poisoning days after rejecting George, he finds himself swept up into a murder investigation. George loved Lucy; he would never have harmed her. So who did?

Now. On the surface Cassie is happy with her life: a secure job, good friends, and a loving family. When a mysterious gift in a long-forgotten will leads her to a dark secret in her family’s history she’s desperate to learn more. But the secrets in Cassie’s family aren’t all hidden in the past, and her research will soon lead her to a revelation much closer to home – and which will turn everything she knows on its head…

Discover a family’s darkest secrets today. Perfect for fans of The Girl in the LetterThe Beekeeper’s Promise and The Forgotten Village!

The Forgotten Gift by Kathleen McGurl - Review
The Forgotten Gift by Kathleen McGurl – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading