Love On Location by Lynne Shelby – Review | Blog Tour

An enjoyable read.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Can movie magic lead to a real-life romance?

When Laurel Martin is hired to rewrite the script for a new timeslip blockbuster, she expects the historical advisor hired by the studio to be an elderly academic who won’t interfere too much with her writing. But when she meets Professor Jason Harding, a young and unexpectedly handsome archaeologist who has some ideas of his own about the script, she realises the job isn’t going to be as simple as she first thought.

As their work takes them from arguing over historical details in a cramped London office to discovering the hidden beauties of a Greek island, Laurel and Jason’s relationship starts to echo the romance of their script.

But with Laurel’s actor ex-boyfriend making trouble at home, and constant issues with the volatile director, will Laurel and Jason ever be able to write the happy ending for their own story?

Love On Location by Lynne Shelby - Review | Blog Tour
Love On Location by Lynne Shelby – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Highlander’s Secret Son by Jeanine Englert – Review | Blog Tour

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

His first love

Now his sworn enemy…

What is Fiona MacDonald doing on the run across his lands? With a wee baby as well! Brandon once loved this woman with all his heart―until her family killed many of his clan. Now, as the new Campbell Laird, he must make sure she pays the price for her betrayal. But how can he claim his vengeance if what she says is true…? That her child is his son and heir!

The Highlander’s Secret Son by Jeanine Englert - Review | Blog Tour
The Highlander’s Secret Son by Jeanine Englert – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

(Northern Witch #4)

Many thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this cover reveal. Let’s first see what the book is about.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

As an eventful school year draws to a close, Mark has to face his greatest challenge yet.

Witches, demons and spells have quickly become the norm for Mark, but he will find that magic can’t solve all of his problems.

With everyone relying on him, will Mark be able to save the day?

Or will the price of being a hero be too high?

Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden cover reveal
Summer Sin by Kelly S. Marsden – Cover Reveal

And now let’s get a better look at the cover!

Continue Reading

The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson – Review | Blog Tour

Gripping.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Let bestselling author Lindsey Hutchinson take you back in time to the Victorian Black Country, for a tale of love, hardship and fighting against the odds to succeed.

Life is tough for Ella Bancroft. After her father, Thomas, is wheelchair-bound by an accident at the tube works, the responsibility for keeping a roof over their head falls to Ella. Ella’s mother died when she was ten, and her sister Sally lives with her no-good, work-shy husband Eddy, so is no help at all.  If she and her father are to keep the bailiffs from the door, then Ella must earn a living.

But Ella is resourceful as well as creative, and soon discovers she has a gift for millinery. Setting up shop in the front room of their two-up, two-down home in Silver Street, Walsall, Ella and Thomas work hard to establish a thriving business. Before long, the fashionable ladies of the Black Country are lining up to wear one of Ella’s beautiful creations, and finally Ella dares to hope for a life with love, friendship and family.

Meeting the man she longs to marry should be a turning point for Ella, but life’s twists and turns can be cruel. As the winter grows colder, events seem to conspire to test Ella’s spirit. And by the time spring is approaching, will the hat girl of Silver Street triumph, or will Ella have to admit defeat as all her dreams are tested.

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with a heart-breaking, unforgettable, page-turning story of love, life and battling against the odds. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews. 

The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson - Review | Blog Tour
The Hat Girl From Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Chocolate Box by Isabella May – Review | Blog Tour

Quirky and endearing.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Ellie Sanchez wants revenge. Spurned during her school days at prestigious Monty’s academy when she was plain Eleanor Finch, and played second fiddle to her idol, Barnaby Westwood, and his show-off sister, Clementine, Ellie will stop at nothing to turn the tables now she’s all grown up. The siblings and their snubbing have been the catalyst for everything that’s gone wrong in her life, from parental neglect to her divorce.

When the Westwood travel merchandise company advertises for a new HR manager, Ellie decides her unique combo of karma and Law of Attraction has finally come good. And she’ll be bagging herself a cherry-on-the-cake, second, and richer, husband in the process – once Barnaby sees how much she’s changed, anyway. 

Fast forward two years and he STILL doesn’t recognise her! 

Fast forward two years and the company is in a financial mess.

Last Chance Saloon-style, Ellie coerces the siblings and their older sister, Brooke (the perpetual spanner in her works) to a rustic gîte in Normandy for a spot of team-building… over a very ‘special’ box of artisan chocolates.

Cue ALL the fireworks in the cocoa bean version of Jumanji…

The Chocolate Box by Isabella May - Review | Blog Tour
The Chocolate Box by Isabella May – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Barnabas Tew and the Case of the Hellenic Abduction by Columbkill Noonan – Review | Blog Tour

An enjoyable, light-hearted mystery.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Demanding Greek gods. A world of intrigue. A mysterious helper.

Zeus is used to getting what he wants…but that was before he met Barnabas Tew!

Barnabas and Wilfred, the unluckiest detectives ever, are happily enjoying their time in India, working on mastering their emotions, and learning how to do all sorts of interesting yoga poses. They’re having a splendid time, and feel as if they’ve finally found some peace in their lives. Everything changes, though, when Zeus suddenly whisks them away from their idyllic retreat and demands that they solve a case for him.

Having no choice, they reluctantly accept the job, but quickly come to realize that nothing is as it should be. Zeus’ motives are suspect from the beginning, the rest of the Greek gods and goddesses are untrustworthy at best, and Barnabas’ temper hasn’t improved at all during his time in India. And, most importantly, who is the mysterious lady who keeps popping up just when they need her? Is she friend, or is she foe?

To make matters even worse, both Barnabas and Wilfred have unresolved feelings of their own. Can they settle their own emotional affairs, once and for all? Will they figure out what’s right and what’s wrong in this topsy-turvy world of lies, intrigue, and trickery? Or will the Greek gods and goddesses prove too much for them?

Barnabas Tew and the Case of the Hellenic Abduction by Columbkill Noonan - Review
Barnabas Tew and the Case of the Hellenic Abduction by Columbkill Noonan – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading