Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton – Review | Blog Tour

An intense, nail-biting thriller.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The extraordinary new novel everyone is talking about from the Sunday Times best-selling author of Sister.

Three hours is 180 minutes or 10,800 seconds.

It is a morning’s lessons, a dress rehearsal of Macbeth, a snowy trek through the woods.

It is an eternity waiting for news. Or a countdown to something terrible.

It is 180 minutes to discover who you will die for and what men will kill for.

In rural Somerset in the middle of a blizzard, the unthinkable happens: a school is under siege. Told from the point of view of the people at the heart of it, from the wounded headmaster in the library, unable to help his trapped pupils and staff, to teenage Hannah in love for the first time, to the parents gathering desperate for news, to the 16-year-old Syrian refugee trying to rescue his little brother, to the police psychologist who must identify the gunmen, to the students taking refuge in the school theatre, all experience the most intense hours of their lives, where evil and terror are met by courage, love and redemption.

Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton - Review
Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Creak on the Stairs by Eva Björg Ægisdóttir – Review | Blog Tour

Translated by Victoria Cribb

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The first in the electrifying new Forbidden Iceland series, The Creak on the Stairs is an exquisitely written, claustrophobic and chillingly atmospheric debut thriller by one of Iceland’s most exciting new talents.

When the body of a woman is discovered at a lighthouse in the Icelandic town of Akranes, it soon becomes clear that she’s no stranger to the area.

Chief Investigating Officer Elma, who has returned to Akranes following a failed relationship, and her colleagues Sævar and Hörður, commence an uneasy investigation, which uncovers a shocking secret in the dead woman’s past that continues to reverberate in the present day…

But as Elma and her team make a series of discoveries, they bring to light a host of long-hidden crimes that shake the entire community. Sifting through the rubble of the townspeople’s shattered memories, they have to dodge increasingly serious threats, and find justice … before it ’s too late.

The Creak on the Stairs by Eva Bjorg AEgisdottir - Review | Blog Tour
The Creak on the Stairs by Eva Bjorg AEgisdottir – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

A Song of Isolation by Michael J. Malone – Blog Tour | Excerpt

International bestseller Michael J. Malone, the critically acclaimed author of A Suitable Lie and House of Spines, returns with a powerful standalone thriller about secrets, celebrity, and greed.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Film star Amelie Hart is the darling of the silver screen, appearing on the front pages of every newspaper. But at the peak of her fame she throws it all away for a regular guy with an ordinary job. The gossip columns are aghast: what happened to the woman who turned heads wherever she went?

Any hope the furore will die down are crushed when Amelie’s boyfriend Dave is arrested on charges of child sexual abuse. Dave strongly asserts his innocence, and when Amelie refuses to denounce him, the press furore quickly turns into physical violence, and she has to flee the country.

While Dave is locked up with the most depraved men in the country and Amelie is hiding on the continent, Damaris, the victim at the centre of the story, is also isolated – a child trying to make sense of an adult world…

Breathtakingly brutal, dark and immensely moving, A Song of Isolation looks beneath the magpie glimmer of celebrity to uncover a sinister world dominated by greed and lies, and the unfathomable destruction of innocent lives… in an instant.

A Song of Isolation by Michael J. Malone - Blog Tour
A Song of Isolation by Michael J. Malone – Blog Tour
Continue Reading

The Sterling Directive by Tim Standish – Review & Blog Tour

An engaging read.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Captain Charles Maddox returns secretly to London from an exile in disgrace only to be arrested, imprisoned, and threatened with the death penalty. He is rescued by a shadowy government agency called the Map Room who give him a choice: return to prison or become an agent, codenamed Sterling, and help them uncover a government conspiracy connected to the Ripper murders.

Led by the coolly calculating Milady and her associate Collier, and aided by fellow agent Church and mechanical computer expert Patience, the freshly appointed Agent Sterling must rapidly learn his new trade if he is to survive the murky and violent fringes of Victorian life and uncover a secret that threatens the Empire itself.

Set in 1896 in an alternative Victorian timeline where mechanical computers are a part of everyday life, The Sterling Directive blends fact and fiction to create a gripping thriller for fans of espionage and historical adventure alike.

The Sterling Directive by Tim Standish – Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review & Blog Tour

Jane Renshaw’s The Child Who Never Was delivers on all its promises. It is a provocative and stunning psychological thriller with a twist that blew away my mind.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Her child has been taken. But no-one believes her.

Sarah’s beautiful baby son Oliver has gone missing. And she will do anything – anything – to get him back.

But there’s a problem. Everyone around Sarah, even her beloved identical twin, Evie, tells her she never had a son, that he’s a figment of her imagination, that she’s not well, she needs help.

And on one level, they’re right, Sarah does need support. She has suffered massive trauma in the past and now she’s severely agoraphobic, very rarely leaves the house, avoids all contact with people.

But fragile though she is, Sarah knows deep in her heart that Oliver is real, that the love she feels for him is true.

And that can only mean one thing – someone has been planning this. And now they’ve taken her baby.

The stunning psychological thriller with an ending you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of K.L Slater, Mark Edwards, Alex Michaelides.

The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw - Review
The Child Who Never Was by Jane Renshaw – Review | Blog Tour organised by damppebbles blog tours

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Sins of the Father by JG Faherty – Review

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Henry Gilman has spent years trying to separate himself from his father’s legacy of murder and insanity. Now he has the chance – all he has to do is figure out who’s been killing people in Innsmouth. Then he’ll be a hero and win the heart of the woman he loves, Flora Marsh. But soon he’s caught in a web of danger, with the undead stalking the streets at night, a terrible monster lurking below the city, and a prophecy of destruction about to come true. In the process, his actions cause unwanted consequences and to save Flora he has to do the very thing he’s spent his life trying to avoid – follow his father’s footsteps into madness.

Sins of the Father by JG Faherty Review and book cover
Sins of the Father by JG Faherty – Review

Summary copied from Goodreads

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading