New Dragon City by Mari Mancusi – Review | Blog Tour

An enthralling middle-grade adventure.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Set off on a high-stakes, action-packed adventure in this story about friendship, survival, and fighting for ones you love, perfect for fans of Wings of Fire and How to Train Your Dragon

No one predicted the dragon apocalypse. The dragons came suddenly and decimated the world as we knew it, including New York City. Now, three years later, Noah, his hardcore survivalist father, and a ragtag group of survivors are barely scraping by in this new reality. Kids scavenge not only for materials in abandoned homes but also for leftover books at the library. Adults spend their time establishing a make-shift society and defending their shelter… with any means available. At least for the few months the dragons are hibernating, until it’s no longer safe aboveground.

Noah has seen the damage these creatures can do firsthand. When it comes to dragons: It’s kill or be killed. But a chance encounter between Noah and a young dragon forces him to question everything he thought he knew.

With rumors spreading that there’s a group of survivors living in harmony with dragons instead of hiding underground, Noah teams up with his fire-breathing ally to find out if peace between humans and dragons is really possible. But the division runs deeper than scales versus skin because trying to follow his heart might just cost Noah his family too.

If Noah and his father can’t see eye to eye, can he really get humans and dragons to?

New Dragon City by Mari Mancusi - Review | Blog Tour
New Dragon City by Mari Mancusi – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Door of No Return by Kwame Alexander – Review | Blog Tour

A powerful coming-of-age tale.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Dreams are today’s answers for tomorrow’s questions.

11-year-old Kofi Offin dreams of water. Its mysterious, immersive quality. The rich, earthy scent of the current. The clearness, its urgent whisper that beckons with promises and secrets…

Kofi has heard the call on the banks of Upper Kwanta, in the village where he lives. He loves these things above all else: his family, the fireside tales of his father’s father, a girl named Ama, and, of course, swimming. Some say he moves like a minnow, not just an ordinary boy so he’s hoping to finally prove himself in front of Ama and his friends in a swimming contest against his older, stronger cousin.

But before this can take place, a festival comes to the villages of Upper and Lower Kwanta and Kofi’s brother is chosen to represent Upper Kwanta in the wrestling contest. Encircled by cheering spectators and sounding drums, the two wrestlers from different villages kneel, ready to fight. 

You are only fine, until you are not.

The match is over before it has barely begun, when the unthinkable–a sudden death–occurs…

The river does not care how grown you are.

As his world turns upside down, Kofi soon ends up in a fight for his life. What happens next will send him on a harrowing journey across land and sea, and away from everything he loves.

Content Warning: slavery

The Door of No Return by Kwame Alexander - Blog Tour banner
The Door of No Return by Kwame Alexander – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Dim Stars: A Novel of Outer-Space Shenanigans by Brian P. Rubin – Spotlight | Book Blitz

Join me in the Book Blitz for Dim Stars: A Novel of Outer-Space Shenanigans by Brian P. Rubin. I am shining a spotlight on the book.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Kenzie Washington, fourteen-year-old girl genius, signs up for a two-week tour as a cadet on the spaceship of her idol, Captain Dash Drake. Too bad Dash, who once saved the galaxy from the evil Forgers, is a broke loser and much less than meets the eye. But when an intergalactic evil appears and launches an attack, Dash, Kenzie, and the ship’s crew escape, making them the next target. On the run and low on gas, Dash and Kenzie encounter cannibal space-pirates, catastrophic equipment failure, and a cyborg who’s kind of a jerk. Kenzie is determined to discover the bad guys’ secret plan. But for her to succeed, Dash needs to keep his brilliant, annoying cadet from getting killed …which is a lot harder than it sounds.

Dim Stars: A Novel of Outer-Space Shenanigans by Brian P. Rubin - Spotlight | Book Blitz
Dim Stars: A Novel of Outer-Space Shenanigans by Brian P. Rubin – Spotlight | Book Blitz
Continue Reading

Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi – Spotlight | Blog Tour

Today is my stop on the blog tour for Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi. I am shining a spotlight on the book.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is a riveting and irresistible take on love, life, and identity — both online and off.

CeCe Ross is kind of a big deal. She and her girlfriend, Silvie, are social media influencers with zillions of fans and followers, known for their cute outfits and being #relationshipgoals.

So when Silvie breaks up with her, CeCe is devastated. She’s lost her first love, and now she can’t help but wonder if she’ll lose her followers as well.

Things get even messier when CeCe meets Josh, a new boy in town who is very much Not Online. CeCe isn’t surprised to be falling for a guy; she’s always known she’s bi. And Josh is sweet and smart and has excellent taste in donuts… but he has no idea that CeCe is internet-famous. And CeCe sort of wants to keep it that way.

But when CeCe’s secrets catch up to her, she finds herself in the middle of an online storm, where she’ll have to confront the blurriness of public vs. private life, and figure out what it really means to speak her truth. 

Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi - Spotlight | Blog Tour
Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi – Spotlight | Blog Tour
Continue Reading

A Wolf for a Spell by Karah Sutton – Review | Blog Tour

An enchanting Russian folklore retelling.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

The Girl Who Drank the Moon meets Pax in this fantastical tale of a wolf who forms an unlikely alliance with Baba Yaga to save the forest from a wicked tsar.

Since she was a pup, Zima has been taught to fear humans—especially witches—but when her family is threatened, she has no choice but to seek help from the witch Baba Yaga.

Baba Yaga never does magic for free, but it just so happens that she needs a wolf’s keen nose for a secret plan she’s brewing… Before Zima knows what’s happening, the witch has cast a switching spell and run off into the woods, while Zima is left behind in Baba Yaga’s hut—and Baba Yaga’s body!

Meanwhile, a young village girl named Nadya is also seeking the witch’s help, and when she meets Zima (in Baba Yaga’s form), they discover that they face a common enemy. With danger closing in, Zima must unite the wolves, the witches and the villagers against an evil that threatens them all.

A Wolf for a Spell by Karah Sutton - Review
A Wolf for a Spell by Karah Sutton – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Tigers in the Tower by Julia Golding – Review | Blog Tour

An enchanting tale full of action and adventure.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

“A Little Princess – with tigers! Orphan and outcast Sahira Clive is a brave and plucky heroine with a brightly burning heart. I was rooting for her all the way to the end of this thrilling – and thought-provoking – adventure.” Ally Sherrick, award-winning author of Black Powder.

Sahira’s family are travelling to England to deliver two majestic Indian tigers to the menagerie in the tower of London.

But tragedy strikes and sickness steals Sahira’s parents from her on the journey. Left alone in London, Sarhira finds herself confined to a miserable and dangerous orphanage. Despite her heartache and the threats she faces, Sahira is determined to carry out her father’s last request – to protect God’s beautiful creatures: her tigers. To do so, Sahira must set out on an adventure and use all her powers of persuasion to engage the help of some new friends along the way.

Can the quest to find her tigers a safe home, lead Sahira to find her own place of hope and belonging in this strange and foreign land?

The Tigers in the Tower by Julia Golding - Review
The Tigers in the Tower by Julia Golding – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: