When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt – Review | Books on Tour

A heartbreaking, powerful book.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

“Dad, you have to tell me the truth. Are you who they say you are? Because I know you can’t be. I know you can’t possibly have done what they’re saying…”

Libby Trent has worked hard to make a good life for herself. She has a happy, messy home in Virginia, full of family and laughter. And a job she’s enormously proud of at a charity helping the disadvantaged, that suits her strong sense of what’s right and wrong.

But everything changes the day she’s contacted by a government official asking questions about a man named Hans Brenner, a Nazi who escaped Germany after the Second World War. A war criminal guilty of the most heinous deeds.

And the man they suspect is Libby’s own father.

She has always known that her father was born in Germany, but what they’re saying is simply impossible. Her frail, elderly father is the sweetest man she knows. With his kind eyes, his tender care, his passion for social justice, he is the person who taught her every value she has… He can’t possibly be the evil man they are saying he was.

But the official is insistent. He says he knows Libby’s father is Hans Brenner, but he tells her they need more evidence for the trial to go ahead—even if it is just a photograph, a letter, or something her father might have kept from those days. And Libby is the one who could find it for them.

Libby knows terrible acts should never go unpunished. But she refuses to believe her father could be guilty, and so she decides to search for something that can prove his innocence. She knows she simply has to find it, because if she can’t…

Then everything she thought she knew about her father, about herself, and even about history may be changed forever.

A totally heartbreaking and powerful story about a daughter’s impossible dilemma and the darkest of family secrets, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, and Diane Chamberlain.

When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt - Review | Books on Tour
When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt – Review | Books on Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

This Rebel Heart by Katherine Locke – Review | Blog Tour

A beautiful historical fiction.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A tale set amid the 1956 Hungarian revolution in post-WWII Communist Budapest.

In the middle of Budapest, there is a river. Csilla knows the river is magic. During WWII, the river kept her family safe when they needed it most–safe from the Holocaust. But that was before the Communists seized power. Before her parents were murdered by the Soviet police. Before Csilla knew things about her father’s legacy that she wishes she could forget.

Now Csilla keeps her head down, planning her escape from this country that has never loved her the way she loves it. But her carefully laid plans fall to pieces when her parents are unexpectedly, publicly exonerated. As the protests in other countries spur talk of a larger revolution in Hungary, Csilla must decide if she believes in the promise and magic of her deeply flawed country enough to risk her life to help save it, or if she should let it burn to the ground.

This Rebel Heart by Katherine Locke  - Review | Blog Tour
This Rebel Heart by Katherine Locke – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

June 2021 Reading Wrap-Up

Hiya friends! It’s time for another wrap-up post. Presenting to you a wrap-up for the books I read in June 2021 which fortunately is on time, unlike the wrap-up posts for April and May 2021. I read just two books in June. Hopefully, in July, I will be able to read more. Without further ado, let’s dive into the recap.

Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2021
Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2021
Continue Reading

May 2021 Reading Wrap-Up

Hiya friends! It’s time for another wrap-up post. Presenting to you a wrap-up for the books I read in May 2021. Just like April 2021 Wrap-Up, this post is also a month late. As I have already pointed out in this post: “A Short Update: A Non-Linear Trajectory for my Blog“, my blogging schedule has gone for a toss. I am not finding the time or the urge to read as many books as I used to previously. Consequently, I read three books in May also. Hopefully, in the coming months, I will be able to read more. Without further ado, let’s dive into the recap.

Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2021
Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2021
Continue Reading

My Top 7 Reads of 2019

Another year is going to end in two days. Another year in which I have spectacularly failed to reach my reading goals. Yet, among the few books that I read, these are the books that stand out for me. Have a look:

Continue Reading

When They Made Us Leave by Annette Oppenlander – Review

When They Made Us Leave by Annette Oppenlander
When They Made Us Leave by Annette Oppenlander

“I think about a time when eating your fill and feeling safe was normal. … and the worst I worried about was doing my homework. I long for that time, but as I lay there in Wolfgang’s threadbare blanket, another conviction grows inside me like a terrible sore.

I realize I’m mourning instead because that time will never return.”

Quoted from When They Made Us Leave by Annette Oppenlander

A longing for the past that is never going to return – that’s the aftermath of a war. Annette Oppenlander’s “When They Made Us Leave: A Novel about Hitler’s Mass Evacuation Program for Children” details the brutalities of the Second World War from the perspective of the German youth (and their families) who had to attend the much-loathed KLV program (an evacuation program).

As the frequency of Allied bombings increases in Germany, parents are encouraged, and in some cases forced, to send their children to youth camps where they will supposedly lead a better life. Fourteen-year-old Hilda and her childhood friend and love, Peter, are among them. While Hilda is reluctant to leave her mother, Peter is ecstatic to attend such a camp and spend time on the beaches, as promised by the camp organizers.

However, Peter soon realizes the farce behind such camps which are being run in a military style by dogmatic individuals. Hilda, too, must endure a draconian Abbess in the cloister she is forced to attend.

Oppenlander describes Hilda and Peter’s heart-wrenching journey through a war-stricken Germany back to their ravaged homes and into each other’s hearts in this book.

Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: