My Top 7 Reads of 2019

Another year is going to end in two days. Another year in which I have spectacularly failed to reach my reading goals. Yet, among the few books that I read, these are the books that stand out for me. Have a look:

The Wolf and The Watchman by Niklas Natt Och Dag

The Wolf and the Watchman by Nilas Natt Och Dag - review by Debjani's Thoughts Book Blog
The Wolf and the Watchman by Niklas Natt Och Dag

My first book of 2019, and what a book it was! Grim, dark, full of blood-spattering gore, yet I was hooked from the first page. Reason – impeccable characterization and artistic rendering of the 18th century Stockholm.

Climbing the Walls by Sacha T. Y. Fortuné

Climbing the Walls by Sacha T. Y. Fortuné
Climbing the Walls by Sacha T. Y. Fortuné

Although not a five-star read for me, I still remember this book. It paints a true portrayal of marriage, showcasing both the fluffy romance and the hard compromises you got to make a marriage work. Highly recommended.

A Killer’s Alibi by William L. Myers Jr.

A Killer's Alibi by William L. Myers, Jr. book review
A Killer’s Alibi by William L. Myers, Jr.

This was my first 5-star read after a gap of five months. Featuring a brilliant investigation by the protagonists culminating into an equally mesmerizing courtroom scene, this was splendid. Just wait for the ending. It will take your breath away.

An Unfortunate End by Lisa Zumpano

An Unfortunate End by Lisa Zumpano book Cover
An Unfortunate End by Lisa Zumpano

This was a charming historical cozy mystery. It took me unawares by its vividly descriptive writing and fast-paced execution. Recommended.

The Nothing Within by Andy Geisler

The Nothing Within by Andy Geisler
The Nothing Within by Andy Geisler

A truly original science fiction tale. I have never read anything like this before. Do take a look.

Screechers by Kevin J. Kennedy and Christina Bergling

Screechers by Kevin J. Kennedy and Christina Bergling
Screechers by Kevin J. Kennedy and Christina Bergling

All of 76 pages, this science fiction novella blew away my mind. I honestly hadn’t expected it to be so good. Despite being brief, I was able to get a pretty good idea of the apocalyptic world. Plus the monsters were fantastic.

When They Made Us Leave by Annette Oppenlander

When They Made Us Leave by Annette Oppenlander
When They Made Us Leave by Annette Oppenlander

A grim tale of WWII Germany from the eyes of the German families who were not sympathetic to Hitler’s cause.

May you read great books next year.

Author: debjani6ghosh

I started this blog to discuss books that I read and movies that I watch. But the blog may not be purely restricted to that!

9 thoughts on “My Top 7 Reads of 2019”

  1. I really like your blog. A pleasure to come stroll on your pages. A great discovery and a very interesting blog. Fascinating and beautiful. I come back to visit you. Do not hesitate to visit my universe. See you soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It has been a while since I visited your blog and I am intrigued by your choices of books. Such diverse reads, I love it. I will have to look out for these reviews and add them to my TBR. Happy New year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks like you had a great year, even though you didn’t meet your goals. I keep hearing great things about The Wolf and the Watchman, it’s a book I’d love to read someday when I have more time😁

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember your reviews of these – they were such diverse reads!
    I haven’t read much from reading goals list, perhaps it just wasn’t realistic for my life situation at the moment. I’ll try to adjust it for the next year.
    Happy New Year, Debjani, wishing you love, peace, and lots of wonderful reads in 2020! ❤📚🌞

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.