Emily Wilde’s Encyclopedia of Faeries by Heather Fawcett – Review | Blog Tour

A stunningly beautiful and fascinating novel.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A curmudgeonly professor journeys to a small town in the far north to study faerie folklore and discovers dark fae magic, friendship, and love, in this heartwarming and enchanting fantasy.

Cambridge professor Emily Wilde is good at many things: She is the foremost expert on the study of faeries. She is a genius scholar and a meticulous researcher who is writing the world’s first encyclopaedia of faerie lore. But Emily Wilde is not good at people. She could never make small talk at a party–or even get invited to one. And she prefers the company of her books, her dog, Shadow, and the Fair Folk to other people.So when she arrives in the hardscrabble village of Hrafnsvik, Emily has no intention of befriending the gruff townsfolk. Nor does she care to spend time with another new arrival: her dashing and insufferably handsome academic rival Wendell Bambleby, who manages to charm the townsfolk, get in the middle of Emily’s research, and utterly confound and frustrate her.

But as Emily gets closer and closer to uncovering the secrets of the Hidden Ones–the most elusive of all faeries–lurking in the shadowy forest outside the town, she also finds herself on the trail of another mystery: Who is Wendell Bambleby, and what does he really want? To find the answer, she’ll have to unlock the greatest mystery of all–her own heart.

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

The Love Match by Priyanka Taslim – Review

A heart-felt, romantic comedy featuring a Bangladeshi American teen.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets Pride and Prejudice in this delightful and heartfelt rom-com about a Bangladeshi American teen whose meddling mother arranges a match to secure their family’s financial security—just as she’s falling in love with someone else.

Zahra Khan is basically Bangladeshi royalty, but being a princess doesn’t pay the bills in Paterson, New Jersey. While Zahra’s plans for financial security this summer involve working long hours at Chai Ho and saving up for college writing courses, Amma is convinced that all Zahra needs is a “good match,” Jane Austen style.

Enter Harun Emon, who’s wealthy, devastatingly handsome, and…aloof. As soon as Zahra meets him, she knows it’s a bad match. It’s nothing like the connection she has with Nayim Aktar, the new dishwasher at the tea shop, who just gets Zahra in a way no one has before. So, when Zahra finds out that Harun is just as uninterested in this match as she is, they decide to slowly sabotage their parents’ plans. And for once in Zahra’s life, she can have her rossomalai and eat it too: “dating” Harun and keeping Amma happy while catching real feelings for Nayim.But life—and boys—can be more complicated than Zahra realizes. With her feelings all mixed up, Zahra discovers that sometimes being a good Bengali kid can be a royal pain.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.
Continue Reading

Pepper River Inn by K.T. Dady – Review | Blog Tour

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, love drama, and a happily ever after.

Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin.

The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories, best when read in order, that intertwine with recurring characters.

Pepper River Inn: There has been a longstanding family feud in Pepper Bay between the Renshaws and the Trents, and it’s about to get even more messy.

Rosie and Belle Trent have just inherited their uncle’s rundown hotel and have decided to see if they can rebuild the unloved business. They don’t rate their chances of having a successful inn, not with the perfect one right next door owned by Elliot and Ned Renshaw.

The two sisters and two brothers aren’t meant to be friends, so when Elliot saves Rosie from drowning and they fall in love, it’s down to Belle and Ned to keep the family feud alive. All they have to do is continue to hate each other. How hard can it be?

Pepper River Inn by K.T. Dady - Review | Blog banner
Pepper River Inn by K.T. Dady – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

In Their Branches: Stories from ABC RN’s Trees Project by Gretchen Miller – Spotlight

A very special collection of over one hundred stories, memories, and reflections on trees that have had a special meaning in the lives of Australians, from ABC RN.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

We all have a favourite tree. We scaled their trunks in childhood, planted their saplings in memory of someone we loved, and carried their silhouettes in our hearts across lifetimes and continents. We have watched them grow and watched them burn, skylarked around in their foliage and cried into their trunks. Up in their branches we have let our imaginations soar, found a sanctuary away from our troubles, and felt connected to nature and life and the ages.

When ABC RN asked its audience for stories for their trees Project, the response was astounding – listeners sent in their memories and reflections on trees they’ve loved and trees they’ve lost. Gretchen Miller has lovingly gathered over one hundred of these deeply personal stories and poems into this exquisite collection. In their Branches is the perfect book for the arborist, the dreamer and the tree hugger in all of us.

In Their Branches: Stories from ABC RN's Trees Project by Gretchen Miller - Spotlight - blog banner
In Their Branches: Stories from ABC RN’s Trees Project by Gretchen Miller – Spotlight

Keep on reading!

The Gifts by Liz Hyder – Review | Blog Tour

An engaging and touching story.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

A young woman staggers through the woods. Something is happening deep inside and as she’s thrown to her knees in agony, the world around her stops. When she comes to, she is astonished at the sight of her shadow – it has wings.

Meanwhile when rumours of ‘fallen angels’ cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune will find himself in the grip of a dangerous obsession, and the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .

The Gifts is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of Bearmouth. A gripping and ambitious book told through several female voices and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the knife-edge roles of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.

The Gifts by Liz Hyder - Review | Blog Tour - blog banner
The Gifts by Liz Hyder – Review | Blog Tour

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Continue Reading

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett – Spotlight

A tender and masterfully told story of memory, family and love.

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT

Prague, 1938: Eva flies down the street from her sister. Suddenly a man steps out, a man wearing a hat. Eva runs into him, hits the pavement hard. His hat is in the gutter. His anger slaps Eva, but his hate will change everything, as war forces so many lives into small, brown suitcases.

Prague, 1980: No one sees Ludek. A young boy can slip right under the heavy blanket that covers this city – the fear cannot touch him. Ludek is free. And he sees everything. The world can do what it likes. The world can go to hell for all he cares because Babi is waiting for him in the warm flat. His whole world.

Melbourne, 1980: Mala Li ka’s grandma holds her hand as they climb the stairs to their third floor flat. Inside, the smell of warm pipe tobacco and homemade cakes. Here, Mana and Bill have made a life for themselves and their granddaughter. A life imbued with the spirit of Prague and the loved ones left behind.

Favel Parrett’s deep emotional insight and stellar literary talent shine through in this love letter to the strong women who bind families together, despite dislocation and distance. It is a tender and beautifully told story of memory, family and love. Because there is still love. No matter what.

The profoundly moving new novel from the critically acclaimed and Miles Franklin shortlisted author of PAST THE SHALLOWS and WHEN THE NIGHT COMES.

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett - Spotlight - blog banner
There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett – Spotlight

Keep on reading!
%d bloggers like this: